Book and review 9,274 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

The Barn Caravan Park

9.1
View prices & book
From £12/€13.64/A$21.39/US$15.92/CA$21.13/CHF15.73/SEK140.94/DKK101.77/NOK128.84/ISK1,725/ARS429.71/CLP10,160/PEN52.02/NZ$23.04/ZAR213.81/PLN59.02/R$60.26/CZK352/RSD1,612/HUF4,433.21/RUB1,002.37/CN¥103.54 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

General

  • Peaceful site seven miles from Brighton
  • Carefully maintained to avoid overcrowding
  • Barbecues, picnic tables and play area

Like Topsy, it just growed…The Barn Caravan Park at Lancing, West Sussex opened in 2003 and has been growing and welcoming guests ever since.

Fret not though if big sites aren’t your thing: this is a peaceful medium-sized site and is carefully maintained by owner Joe to avoid overcrowding even in busy periods. Hide yourself away here or take a trip to Brighton about seven miles away; several West Sussex beaches are even closer to hand.

Pitches are on grass and come with access to The Barn’s five toilets, baby changing, showers with lashings of free hot water, and a cold water beach-type shower for outdoor suds. There are brick barbecues and picnic tables for guests to use, and a good play area with full-sized football goal, swings, ball game area and a climbing tower slide.

For getting off site, buses and trains are within a mile; Lancing train station, with a supermarket outside, is about half a mile away.

Please note

Bookings must not be for more than 14 consecutive nights.

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

There are no hot washing-up facilities.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.1

Overall rating based on 116 reviews

 

95% would recommend this site to a friend.

95% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

A pleasant place to stay 17/06/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom pauline c. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Hot showers

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

We had a fantastic 3 nights here and look forward to going back. 15/06/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Caroline W. Confirmed

  • Electric grass motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We liked where it was situated and how friendly and helpful joe was.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Dissappointing left after the first night to find somwhere else 12/06/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom pete_b305344 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Quiet at night, otherwise not much

    Disliked: 

    Owner was a bit rude saying I drove past him when he waved at me, which I didn’t realise. Pointed out this to me twice. Why unecessary and Made me feel quite unwelcome, not what you want or expect after 3 hours drive, quite small cramped site with pitches very close together. Not advised to stay unless you have a family and like mixing with everyone else on the campsite, slightly clicky feeling. WiFi useless!

From the manager...

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your recent stay with us.
We try and keep a good record of customer service if you wish to discuss any problems you had please don't hesitate to contact us.

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Very laid back and relaxed atmosphere. Good and clean facilities ... 12/06/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Tony B. Confirmed

  • Electric grass touring caravan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very laid back and relaxed atmosphere. Good and clean facilities and an attentive site manager.

    Disliked: 

    Hot water for the pot wash would be a benefit. Only cold water available.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Clean facilities and site 11/06/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Jemma B. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass touring caravan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great spacious pitch, with relaxed atmosphere that allowed our eldest the space to play on the climbing frame and be under supervision

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Highly recommend this site, close to beach,couple of nice pubs etc. 11/06/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Richard S. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch (four man)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Clean tidy site. And site owner Joe very welcoming.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing to dislike

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Excellent site with good facilities and level pitches. 04/06/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Joanna W. Confirmed

  • Electric grass touring caravan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We liked everything about this site. Loads of space for my 2 children to run around safely. The site is well maintained and quiet. Location is great; short walk to the train station and bus stops.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Good basic site. Clean facilities and helpful owner. Would recommend. 13/06/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Catherine M. Confirmed

  • Electric grass touring caravan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Enjoyed our stay. Site was well kept with good size pitches. Toilet/ shower block was clean with plenty of hot water. Joe, the owner was very friendly and helpful. Nice family feel to the place. Good for a quiet getaway. No shop on site, but supermarkets available about 10 minutes walk away.

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

The site was clean, Joe was very helpful and always ... 12/06/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Richard H. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass touring caravan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The site was clean, Joe was very helpful and always friendly. The site had a full size goal which our grandchildren enjoyed.
    Unfortunately one of our grandsons had a injury, we went to the local doctors, who were very helpful and friendly.
    The site is close to the beach about 5 minutes walk. Bus service to Brighton and Worthing were at the end of the road again about 5 minutes.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Would stay again without hesitation 11/06/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom rebekah_f179783 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch (four man)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely, relaxed camping ground. Good location. Facilities clean, tidy and in good condition.

    Disliked: 

    No hot water for washing up

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

Hard standings

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Budget/backpacker

Leave the car at home

Walkers' paradise

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Climbing nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Outdoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Medium (26-50 pitches)

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Old Salts Farm Road, Lancing, West Sussex, England, BN15 8JG
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 50.8262°N 0.3101°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Lancing: Brighton Rd Coach Stop — 0.7 miles
Shoreham-by-Sea: High Street Coach Stop — 1.5 miles
Worthing: Marine Parade Coach Stop — 2.8 miles
Train stations
Lancing Rail Station — 0.6 miles
Shoreham-by-Sea (Sussex) Rail Station — 1.8 miles
East Worthing Rail Station — 2.0 miles
Ferry ports
Newhaven Harbour Ferry Terminal — 16.2 miles
Bosham Hoe Ferry Landing — 24.3 miles
West Itchenor Ferry Landing — 24.4 miles
Airports
Shoreham Brighton City Airport — 1.0 miles
London Gatwick Airport South Terminal — 23.7 miles
London Gatwick Airport — 23.7 miles

Directions


From the A259: 1 mile past the Shoreham Beach roundabout, turn right after the car wash into Old Salts Farm Road. Follow the road, turn right into the lane, follow lane and take the first turning on the right.

From the A27: turn left at Lancing Manor roundabout signposted South Lancing (Grinsted Lane); follow all the way to A259 Coast Road. Turn left at the roundabout opposite Setyres and follow the road; take third turn on left into Old Salts Farm Road and follow this road; turn right into the lane, follow lane and take first turning on right.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Beaches, beaches, beaches… the nearest beach, South Lancing, is within a short walk, with the beaches of Worthing and Shoreham-by-Sea each two miles’ walk from here. Or head west along the coast to the flumes of Littlehampton’s Harbour Park or to the bountiful resort of Bognor Regis.

The town of Lancing is less than a mile away from The Barn with a nature reserve, Lancing Ring, to its north and restaurants and shops at which to fill your boots and empty your wallet. Worthing is also well worth a look as one of the biggest towns in the area – and the former home of Oscar Wilde and Harold Pinter for those who like their literature.

There are a couple of hundred listed buildings in the town to make your way around as well as the biggest museum in West Sussex, an undercover shopping centre and, er, a haunted oak tree. Along the coast to the west there’s cracking Chichester with its Norman cathedral, festivals and shops; Fishbourne Roman Palace, the biggest Roman home in Britain, is just outside the city.

Going inland, nature lovers, sightseers and adrenaline seekers will find heaps of things to do: the market town of Horsham and its birds of prey centre; horse-riding, hiking and historical artefacts in the South Downs National Park; the RSPB reserve of Pulborough Brooks and the Wildfowl and Wetlands Trust wildlife haven Arundel overlooked by Arundel Castle.

Sprogs have plenty of choice too: take them along to West Sussex’s farm parks and play centres, to Chichester for mountain boarding (not biking) or for a puff on the South Downs Light Railway.

Must see

  • Hove Museum & Art Gallery (5.6 miles)
  • Preston Manor (7.1 miles)
  • Brighton Fishing Museum (7.3 miles)

National Trust

  • Monk's House (14.2 miles)
  • Nymans (16.2 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  1 p.m. –  6 p.m.
Depart:  11:30 a.m.

The Barn Caravan Park cancellation policy

No refunds within 2 weeks of arrival date.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. The Barn Caravan Park will debit the balance from your card 2 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 2 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Bank transfer
Cash

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact The Barn Caravan Park


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.

Extras
Motorbike(s) can be brought instead of the car(s) included.

General
Bookings must not be for more than 14 consecutive nights.
Generators are not permitted.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.

Additional terms

Please note there are four toilets, four showers and one outside cold water shower available. There are no hot washing-up facilities.

Please call the site using the contact details provided in the booking confirmation email when you are on your way to confirm arrival time.

Close