Book and review 8,641 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

The Lodge

8.7
More info & book
From £12/€13.42/A$19.67/US$15.74/CA$19.60/CHF14.98/kr128.89/kr100.25/kr124.35/kr1,644/$278.42/$10,000/PEN51.13/NZ$20.91/R203.39/zł57.14/R$49.44/Kč349.85/RSD1,622 (for 1 night, 4 people)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

General

  • Smallholding a few miles from the M20
  • Six miles from Port Lympne Wild Animal Park
  • Local pub within a short walk

What a smashing setting… The Lodge in Ashford, Kent, is a mere few miles from the J11/M20 and easily accessible from the B2068, is a piffling ten minutes from the Eurotunnel and an easy 20 minutes from Dover: use this handsome little site as a stopover on trips north and south or as a break on the way to la belle France. Or just settle down for some time instead, as this is a wildlife haven with spectacular scenery in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

As The Lodge is a smallholding, many a critter can be spotted on site too, such as the resident horse, goats, sheep and chickens; free-range eggs are usually available from the chooks to sizzle up using the site firepit. (If you reckon the kids might want to see yet more critters, the fab Port Lympne Wild Animal Park is less than six miles away.)

Basic supplies and bread are at the petrol station 300 metres away and top local produce at the village shop of Stelling Minnis a mile and a half away. Several pubs are within a few miles, including the closest, The George, a paltry 400-metre stroll away across green Kent fields.

The Lodge has two toilets and a shower, a washing-up area and chemical disposal. Dogs are welcome, but please do keep them on leads because of the sheep and other livestock.

Please note

Bookings must not be for more than 14 consecutive nights.

Dogs are not allowed in the accommodation units.

Bookings including children under the age of 11 are not allowed on Pitchup.com. The site mainly caters for adults only or families with older children. However, the site may -occasionally - allow regular customers to bring young children.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party: 2 adults

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


This listing accepts adults only (defined as age 12+)
Booking as a group?

Reviews

8.7

Overall rating based on 46 reviews

 

87% would recommend this site to a friend.

87% would stay here again.

 
  • 10 65%
  • 9 8%
  • 8 4%
  • 7 2%
  • 6 13%
  • 5 0%
  • 4 0%
  • 3 0%
  • 2 4%
  • 1 2%

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Adorable caravan on a lovely site - perfect for a budget getaway. 24/07/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Gudrun G. Confirmed

  • 1 bedroom gypsy caravan
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Cute little caravan on lovely well-kept grounds. Quite basic but nice little touches like mugs and teabags. Also much warmer at night than we expected. Dave was very helpful putting our ice packs in the freezers. Shower/toilet block nice and clean.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you very much for your review. So glad you enjoyed the gypsy caravan as we think it is really cute too!

Thank you for coming.

Best wishes

Jo and Dave

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

A great place to relax 22/07/2017

samruddock

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Just got back from 2 nights here. Loved the peace and quiet and the fact that there is no internet or phone signal - just what we needed. The pitches were well spaced out and the field was well kept. Washing up facilities were nice and spacious and although basic, the showers and toilets were clean with plenty of hot water. Dave and Jo were very welcoming and it was lovely to have fresh eggs in the morning. On the second day we hired a fire pit and got a huge bags of logs too - £7 in total which we thought was a bargain. There were a few children on site, but all were well behaved and made a fuss of our dog and it was lovely to see the sheep, chickens and goats in the field next to us. Will definitely visit again.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you very much for your review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. It was great to meet you and Jess the dog who was so good and hopefully had fun too.

The chickens are pleased you enjoyed the eggs and Poppy the goat says hullo.

Thanks again.

Best wishes

Jo and Dave.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Excellent rural setting. 21/07/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Fiona J. Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    A lovely rural setting with friendly owners.
    There was plenty of space to pitch my tent without being too close to my neighbours.
    The added bonus was seeing the chickens, sheep and goat.
    Thank you for a pleasant, relaxing break.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing.

From the manager...

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are really glad you had a good time and a chance to relax.

Best wishes

Jo and Dave

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Lovely quite little country site surrounded by animals and nature. 19/07/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Searlait M. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nice and quiet little campsite on the side of a farm with the sound of animal all around and a view of the chickens and the family's 4 dogs! Clean facilities and only a couple of minutes walk to the nearest pub. What more would you want!

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the animals. Thank you for coming and hopefully you can visit again.

All the dogs and animals say hi!

Best wishes
Jo and Dave

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Very nice little site. 18/07/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Julie H. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very friendly people that run the site, had a lovely weekend, and the chicken egg's were delicious.

    Disliked: 

    The big gap in the shower door, spiders in the toilet.

From the manager...

Thank you very much for your review and glad you had a good time. The chickens are pleased too. Dave enjoyed his wee dram with you! :-)

We note your comments re the door and spiders. The door does shut fully but there was something stuck in the tracking - now sorted. There was an exceptional amount of bugs one morning due to the light in being left on all night inadvertently and attracting them in . They have been rehomed!

Best wishes
Jo and Dave

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

A lovely little site, clean facilities, friendly host. Will return. 16/07/2017

dean_r278470 Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    I feel I must support the comments of the gentleman below. What a load of old cobblers written by the young man in the previous post. We could tell by their body language they were having a bad day, and what sort of idiot complains about lack of internet on a campsite??

    There was one young lad there with his Dad, he was exceptionally well behaved (not that it was any of my business), so where is the problem?

    Everything was spotlessly clean, the site was lovely, and so were the hosts.

    We had a lovely evening, and are planning to return.

    It is so easy to just let rip online I'm afraid, and the poor review below is completely unjustified. This is a lovely place to stay, with friendly hosts who don't deserve to have their business adversely affected by a halfwit.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing really.

From the manager...

Thank you for your supportive and positive review which is much appreciated. As you will see from our response to the gentleman and his son who stayed at the same time, the review you mentioned was in connection with two ladies who arrived the previous week.

We have considered wifi but most people say that they come to get away from tech.

We look forward to seeing you again. We enjoyed the evening too as it is so nice to see guests enjoying themselves.

Best wishes
Jo and Dave

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Stayed at this site with my very well behaved 8year ... 16/07/2017

chrisdw4 Mobile phone icon

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Stayed at this site with my very well behaved 8year old son. ( On the same night as the needlessly negative review two items below)

    Booked direct with the site at short notice.

    The site was not crawling with kids. It was myself and my son and a German couple with an (unbelievably quiet toddler) when I called to book I was asked how old my son was and whether he was well behaved.

    I find the review a tad offensive as pitchup does state adults only but it also states family friendly. This may need some clarification but then again not.

    If there were hoardes of kids rampaging around then I would understand but from memory this couple left within 5 minutes of our arrival. I fancy the negativity is rooted more in prejudice than actual facts.

    The ammeneties are basic but then again it is a very well priced country campsite not a Hilton.

    The public footpaths, location and decorative order of the local pubs also do not appear to be fault of the site owners.

    The hosts were very welcoming and even gave us a fire pit from a customer that "had to leave" ;)

    In short, this site is quiet, lovely and not crawling with kids. The kids that were there were quiet, well behaved and respectful. ( My son spent most of the time reading a book or quietly playing bowls by the side of our tent.)

    There are also, about 7-8 other similar sites in the vacinity so a 2 hour drive home seems somewhat pointless. Either way I am genuinely sorry if I spoiled anyone's weekend. This was entirely not our intention.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing.

From the manager...

Thank you for your thoughtful review. Please rest assured that the review you referred to was in reference to the previous Saturday when there were two pleasant famlies on site. Nothing to do with your visit at al and you certainly didn't spoil anyone's weekend but enhanced our German guests' experience by being able to chat to them.

Your son was extremely polite and very helpful judging by the washing up that he did! We are glad you had fun together. It was a coincedence that a couple left soon after you came but this was only because they had to go somewhere but as they put it for a good reason.

Thank you for coming.

Best wishes
Jo and Dave

.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Site was great all the facilities were clean and lovely friendly staff 16/07/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Donna N. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The quietness, no children, the animals

    Disliked: 

    Lack of phone signal

From the manager...

Thank you very much for your comments and feedback. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the phone - only EE works as the mast is along the road. Other networks are patchy.

Best wishes
Jo and Dave

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Terrible facilities, dirty, small, rubbish location 15/07/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom catherine_a310981 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nothing

    Disliked: 

    Everything unfortunately. I hate leaving a bad review, in fact I don't think I ever have but this place was terrible. We booked it because the terms and conditions said it would be child free but unfortunately there were lots of children that had been allowed on the site. This was after we had unpacked and set up so was very annoying as we had to pack up and leave. Couldn't find the owners and have since had a fight for a refund.

    We weren't the only annoyed campers, we chatted to a few others and they all thought the site would be child free too.

    The 'local pub and shops' weren't very local at all and had to be driven to. The only close pub was walking distance but across a farmer's field as all footpaths were over grown. The pub was pretty poor as well, I thought it was closed for renovation at first. The local wood walk was actually a long walk down a dangerous country lane...

    The facilities were a joke, one male and one female toilet. One sink (with NO soap) and ONE shared shower. All were dirty. The site was a very small field.

    No phone signal or internet at all.

    All in all, this site ruined our weekend away and we ended up leaving and having to travel 2 hours home that afternoon. The owner, Dave, seems to think it's ok to ignore his customers and give no after sales service either which is very sad. Ive had to go through Pitchup to get any sort of response and they have agreed that the site has broken there contract with us.

From the manager...

We are of course sorry that you were disappointed. Just to clarify we were on site all the time and we sent you four emails in response to yours as well as making the refund of our own accord. When we tried to contact you by phone the number you had given did not work.

Best wishes
Jo and Dave

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Relaxed atmosphere..nice people 12/07/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom karen h. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Relaxed atmosphere..nice people

    Disliked: 

    Toilet/shower block

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

Hard standings

Rules

Adults only

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Peaceful

Walkers' paradise

Wildlife haven

Nearby leisure

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Restaurant nearby

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Farm

Small (11-25 pitches)

Camping 2.0

Gypsy caravans

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Lymbridge Green, Stowting Ashford, Kent, England, TN25 6BL
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 51.1539°N 1.0274°E

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Sellindge (Kent): Ashford Rd Coach Stop — 3.7 miles
Newingreen (Kent): Ashford Rd Coach Stop — 4.7 miles
Willesborough (Ashford Kt): Hythe Rd. Coach Stop — 5.0 miles
Train stations
Westenhanger Rail Station — 4.1 miles
Sandling Rail Station — 4.7 miles
Wye Rail Station — 4.8 miles
Ferry ports
Folkestone Eurotunnel Terminal — 5.6 miles
Dover Western Docks Ferry Terminal — 12.8 miles
Dover Eastern Docks Ferry Terminal — 13.2 miles
Airports
Lydd London Ashford Airport — 14.4 miles
Kent International Airport — 19.6 miles

Directions


From J11/M20 take the B2068 to Canterbury. After about five miles turn left at the Esso petrol station - signposted Stowting. The site is 300 metres on the lefthand side.

Avoid the first signpost to Stowting as that will take you a long and very windy way round and satnavs are not reliable.

From Canterbury/M2 take the B2068 towards Hythe. Turn right at the Esso petrol station. We are 300m on the left.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Those not on a quick stopover or rushing off to the Eurotunnel should spend their first day or two here just wandering around the surrounding countryside via the wildlife and birdwatching of the local paths right outside The Lodge. Horse riding and cycling are also top options in the area.

If you're feeling energetic, hike the 22 and a half miles of the Elham Valley Way from Hythe all the way to Canterbury Cathedral; if not, drive along to the famed old city to see its famed old cathedral where many a tale was fictionly told. The award-winning Canterbury Tales attraction can tell you how it all worked out in Chaucerian times.

Dover's also within easy reach, to see its splendid white cliffs, Dover Castle and (also splendid) Roman Painted House Museum, or have a day at the seaside at Folkestone, Dymchurch or Hythe.

Must see

  • Port Lympne Wild Animal Park (5.4 miles)
  • Romney Hythe & Dymchurch Railway (6.0 miles)
  • Ashford Designer Outlet (6.4 miles)

National Trust

  • The White Cliffs of Dover (13.6 miles)
  • South Foreland Lighthouse (14.9 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  12 p.m. –  9 p.m.
Depart:  11 a.m.
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  11 a.m. –  9 p.m.
Depart:  11 a.m.

The Lodge cancellation policy

No refunds within 2 weeks of arrival date.

100% refunded up to four weeks before arrival.
50% refunded if within four weeks of arrival

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. The Lodge will debit the balance from your card 4 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 4 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Bank transfer
Cash
Cheque

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact The Lodge


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Dogs
Dogs are not allowed in the accommodation units.

General
Bookings must not be for more than 14 consecutive nights.

Additional terms

Bookings including children under the age of 11 are not allowed on Pitchup.com. The site mainly caters for adults only or families with older children. However, the site may -occasionally - allow regular customers to bring young children.

Close