Book and review 8,641 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Roebeck Camping and Caravan Park

8.0
More info & book
From £17/€19.01/A$27.87/US$22.30/CA$27.77/CHF21.23/kr182.60/kr142.02/kr176.17/kr2,329/$394.43/$14,167/PEN72.43/NZ$29.62/R288.14/zł80.95/R$70.05/Kč495.63/RSD2,297 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

General

  • Family-run park on 14 acres of pasture and woodland
  • Well-stocked coarse fishing lake open all season
  • A mile from Ryde and two from Appley Beach

We reckon you'll roe beck to this Isle of Wight site once or twice at least after your first hol here – at least if you're an aficionado of Rydely special views, a mild micro climate, perfect peace and quiet, close proximity to the beach, and sitting serenely to bag a goodie at a park's own fishing lake...

There are some pretty good core values for a campsite at Roebeck Camping and Caravan Park on the Isle: for starters, its setting is only a couple of miles from Ryde's Appley Beach and so it's a super base from which to explore the Solent by car, public transport or on foot. And it has simply smashing views over the Isle's Ashey Valley and the downs to the south. (And it's only a few miles by car ferry from Portsmouth too: great pip.)

Roebeck is family-run and has been under new management since 2015; it has pitches for tents, tourers and motorhomes including optional electric hook-up in a well drained, sheltered field, and family Sioux-style tipis set near the fishing lake. The shower and loo block is kept to high standards and includes laundry facilities; there's also a small campers' kitchen available with fridge, kettle, microwave and several sockets.

The site has 14 acres of pasture and woodland to lose oneself in – have a look at the pics to see of what we speak – including plenty of wooded areas to walk the family pooch, and picnic areas aplenty for sparking up the campfire. (Well-behaved dogs are very welcome, but do please keep them on leads while on site; there are lots of opps for off-lead coast and countryside walkies all around.)

Ryde is a mere five minutes away by car and is stuffed with cafés, restaurants and bars at which to get a bite or two; a Tesco hypermarket is a short drive away, and a small convenience store within a couple of minutes in the car.

Please note

A charge of 20p applies for the use of shower.

The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party: 2 adults

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

8.0

Overall rating based on 35 reviews

 

83% would recommend this site to a friend.

77% would stay here again.

 
  • 10 37%
  • 9 17%
  • 8 17%
  • 7 8%
  • 6 2%
  • 5 5%
  • 4 2%
  • 3 0%
  • 2 8%
  • 1 0%

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters

No level pitches. 16/07/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom steve_k165515 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    There is nothing I liked about this site

    Disliked: 

    On arrival (Sunday) the site looked lovely I was surprised to see reception was a small blue metal container but the staff seemed very friendly. I was taken off in a buggy to be shown two potential pitches as building work was due to start on the Monday so didn't want us to be disturbed during our stay. There were a number of touring caravans on permanent pitches which had been there for some time and a couple of tents but the rest of the site was on a slope/hill. We were in the furthest field from reception and realised that the toilets were portaloos and showers too which was disappointing. The water tap was up a bank very hard to fill ackroll up along with the electric hook up (good job I had along lead). The site had a shower block but it was quite a distance from our pitch and all up hill. Definitely not a site for disabled campers and uneven gravel track throughout the site even a standard car would struggle. At least we were in the quiet area so we thought. On Tuesday a long arm digger arrived and was digging from 8am until 5pm and dumper trucks going up the hill to top area to work on static foundations so much for keeping us out of the way! The workmen burnt wood and rubbish not far from our caravan during the day when we were out and we came back to find it was still burning when we got back and they had gone. It seems that the site really caters for static caravans and permanent lodges/bungalows rather than tourers so would avoid this site at all costs! The shower block had a coin box in which you had to pay 20p (3 mins) for a shower but it was only charged in the ladies not men's? We didn't have any welcome pack to tell us of site facilities or local area so literally had to find out for ourselves. Wouldn't stay there again!

From the manager...

Thank you for the feedback which has left us dumbfounded. You state you chose your own pitch! There is no work going on in the North Field whatsoever (I.e nearest facilities). You have scored us down on child friendliness, you were a mature couple with no children and accommodation is extremely poorly marked and yet you supplied your own accommodation.

I am not sure whether anyone reads the pages prior to booking, but bearing in mind there is no secret regarding 0.20p for showers as it's literally all over our page!

Again, you stayed for the duration and made absolutely no complaint whatsoever to anyone.

You spoke to everyone including one of the owners and stated all was good!

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

great camp site looking forward to coming back 12/07/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Wayne W. Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    great camp site looking forward to coming back

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to leave such wonderful feedback. We very much look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Very disappointed with this site. 09/07/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Jenny A. Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location, open spaces, views

    Disliked: 

    Very dirty shower block and 'campers' kitchen' (which were eventually partly cleaned); the camping with electric hook-ups are right next to a building site with noisy diggers, concrete mixers etc.

From the manager...

All our staff (including myself) who rang you even though I was quite unwell. You informed me that you had not complained for 8 daiys and then in a totally aggressive manner told me my wardens and staff were liars on the telephone to me. I did ask why you had not complained if you perceived there to be such problems and you said you had been busy!! You stayed for your entire break, not even leaving until 2pm on the day of departure, even though our check out policy is 10am We therefore, deem your review as nonsense.

In fact, when your husband was asked on the day of departure in my presence if everything was ok he replied YES!

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
Default avatar

Had a wonderful experience for a week. The warden was ... 18/06/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Glen R. Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Had a wonderful experience for a week. The warden was very helpful. Met lovely people.

    Disliked: 

    Bit of noise due to ongoing work, but it was not a problem for us, as we went out during the day.

From the manager...

Thank you for your very positive feedback. We were very happy to asssist in any way. You certainly had fantastic weather and I hope you enjoyed our lovely island.

We very much look forward to seeing you again very soon.
'
The team

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

facilities eg. shower and toilet not that clean 15/06/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Gerald B. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very helpful site manager

    Disliked: 

    Paying for a shower
    Building works going on every week day

From the manager...

Thank you for your feedback.

Our staff are very upset at the comments posted as no complaint whatsoever was made to anyone on site during your stay. It is impossible to rectify a complaint if we are not aware there is a problem. You did in fact remain on site for the whole period.

It is clear on the PITCHUP website that there is a very small 0.20p charge for constant hot water (no waste we are on meters on the island). This is in no way hidden and has been there for 3 seasons.

I have just checked the showers and loos of which there are numerous around the site and they are spotless. I cannot comment on any mess left directly after they have been cleaned twice/theee times a day depending on use. But we do monitor them closely.

Suffice to say we will be closing our gates for the festival dates in 2018.

The Team

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Disappointed, not what was promised and didn't suit our needs. 14/06/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Kari B. Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    In the countryside.

    Disliked: 

    1) There was a mix up with our booking. I had paid the balance on April 12th but kept getting reminders that we hadn't paid. Also Pitch up added to confusion the week we were due to leave falsely claiming we had cancelled!! Apparently there were computer software issues.
    2) we did not take levelling blocks with us and there was no level pitch so we spent 4 nights sleeping at a slight angle, which was uncomfortable.
    3). Ryde is 1.5 miles away and on booking we were told there was a bus we could catch into Ryde near the caravan park. Unfortunately the no 37 bus does not currently go as far as the caravan park due to road works. We could catch it a mile away every day except Sunday but the bus went all around the outlaying areas, on a circular route before reaching Ryde. It only went every hour til 5pm. As we were catching the bus to the festival each day we had to walk into and out of town 1.5 miles as taxis were scarce due to being busy with the festival.
    4). The showers had meters either 20p for 3 minutes or £1 for 15 mins. The new pound coins took some problems being inserted but did work.
    5) Around the edges of the shower cubicles were dirty and there was no mop and bucket for customers to use after a shower.
    6) wifi had to be pre booked and paid for as extra
    7) there is building work being carried out on a new chalet being built and our van was parked by the building works
    8) there was no shop or last minute supplies area on site and the nearest shop over a mile away. We didn't want to get the van out once parked and didn't take bikes.

From the manager...

Thank you for your review. There are many acres of land to which you would have been welcome to change pitch had your concerns been raised at the time. Unfortunately this cannot be resolved once you have departed. We are deeply saddened that we were never given the opportunity during your stay. You indeed stayed with us for the whole period and so had ample opportunity as the site is constantly staffed.

There has been a little work carried out, unfortunately due to delays because of appalling weather conditions. This will be completed in a matter of days - thank goodness.

We, unfortunately are not kept aware of road works or diverted bus routes. I have though checked with our local bus company who are unaware of any route changes other than those for HGV's. There are in fact 2 bus routes and both are a very short walk from the site. You would not have been told on booking as you booked via this website.
We most certainly do not ask you to pre-book wifi or that there is a charge, this is completely untrue, as you know. We in fact give a code on your arrival to access wifi and have just upgraded this in the last month.
The shower small charge are clear on our advertising on PITCHUP. There are in fact extra loos/showers lower down the site where there is no charge if you prefer.

The Roebeck Team

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

There are so many better campsites to choose from on IOW 14/06/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom vida_c Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We have an Autotrail motorhome. The electric pitches which Roebeck claimed were suitable when we arrived, were in a very cramped space on a slope. We chose to stay further down into the forest area and make do without the electricity in order to have some space. Nobody stopped us despite the fact that we are 8 foot long and 3.5 tonnes heavy. When a storm hit that night, our motorhome had to be towed out the next morning, and some staff were apparently aware of the dangers of motorhomes pitching further down. It was absolutely awful, but made worse by the management's incredibly rude attitude. They will not take motorhome suitability off their site, they did not apologise, and they insinuated that we should have known better. They are perfectly geared up for tents, the area itself is very peaceful and ideal for those who would love to get away from it all rather than go to one of the more normal campsites with facilities (this site has one shower).

    Disliked: 

    Their unprofessional attitude.
    No facilities!

From the manager...

Dear Mrs Cannon,

I have spent much time trying to resolve this matter with you and also refunded the £40 which you specifically requested. You have in return posted a defamatory, malicious review, which is completely untrue. There are in fact 10 toilets and 7 showers on our site.

You insisted on parking your motorhome in the wooded area and you were warned by both wardens that it was ill advised as severe weather was coming overnight. You again deny this.

I do not know what you mean by lack of facilities. Other than showers, loos, laundry, wash up with free use of wifi, kettle, toaster, fridge, freezer, microwave etc, etc. Fishing, we do not pretend to offer any thing other. We are AA and local Licencing authorities inspected annually and they are far better qualified than your self to state whether we should allow motor homes.

I and my staff have dealt with you and your family in a courteous and professional manner throughout .Unfortunately you deem it your right to damage another's business with absolutely no truth or logic behind your accusations.

I'm afraid you leave me no other choice but to seek professional advice to have these spurious claims removed.

The Roebeck Team

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
Default avatar

Good family site, excellent location 05/06/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Kelly O. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The site was friendly and split into smaller fields. You could choose from one near the entrance close to the facilities to others next to the fishing lake and even in the woods.
    The washing up hut is good - always hot water. Only one sink though. Lovely to have a kettle, fridge, freezer and even a toaster and microwave on hand.
    They delivered a fab fire basket to our tent and a huge bucket of wood for only £5 - enough for two nights :-)
    Location is great but not really walkable to Ryde with children in tow. Beautiful views across the valley.
    Wifi was available but we had 4G so didn't need it.

    Disliked: 

    They are currently building lodges on the site - this meant building noise from 8am with trucks arriving and concrete being poured.
    Some people live in the lodges so we did feel a bit like we were camping in their back garden but we could have moved down the hill if we wanted to.
    The top field was not very flat - but OK. Some sliding down the camp beds in the night though!
    You do have to pay for the showers and only one was working. The timer generally had some left on it though if you could be quick!
    I could not see any recycling bins.

From the manager...

Thank you for your feedback. I am slightly perplexed as to why you were in the top field when you didn't book a hook up - there is so much much more space, obviously, in the lower fields where there is also shower and loo blocks which have no charge.

We are so pleased you would recommend us and also visit again. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Best wishes

The Roebeck Team

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Overall fab stay and lovely people 03/06/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Charlie J. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very friendly site and staff will certainly recommend to anyone who asks

    Disliked: 

    Weather due to rain and thunder storms but that was it

From the manager...

Thank you very much for your lovely positive feedback. It is always lovely for us all to receive such nice comments.

Sorry about the storms!

Very much look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes

The Roebeck Team

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

A friendly, easygoing site with plenty of space (even at half term!) 31/05/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom amy_i Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Really relaxed set up with some lovely fields set around a couple of ponds. Quiet and relaxing. We loved camping in the little forested area. Met on arrival and given free reign to find a spot. Facilities are basic but kept clean and there are enough loos etc. Great to be able to have a bonfire. Only a very short drive to lovely beach.

    Disliked: 

    The top field is in the process of being turned into holiday homes so isn't very pretty, but it wasn't noisy and go past that field and it is delightful.

From the manager...

Thank you for your great feedback, all of which is noted. We are indeed developing the North Field (3 acres) into luxury lodges. We do have another 10 acres, or more of camping fields and ponds etc. We are pleased that this did not in any way impact on your break.

We are so pleased that you would visit again and recommend us, this is always very much appreciated.

Look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Very best

The `Roebeck Team..

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

Drainage hook-up points for tourers

Fully serviced pitches

Seasonal pitches

Tourer storage facilities

Water hook-up points for tourers

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Forest

Lake and/or mountain

Leave the car at home

Peaceful

Remote location

Spectacular scenery

Walkers' paradise

Wild camping

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Climbing nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Outdoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Surf school nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Medium (26-50 pitches)

Camping 2.0

Jumbo tent pitches

Tipis, yurts, or wigwams

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Roebeck Country Park, Gate House Road, Upton Ryde, Isle Of Wight, England, PO33 4BP
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 50.7094°N 1.1771°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Southsea: Clarence Pier Coach Stop — 6.3 miles
Portsmouth: The Hard Interchange — 6.8 miles
Portsmouth: Southsea Coach Stop — 7.0 miles
Train stations
Smallbrook Junction Rail Station — 1.0 miles
Ryde St Johns Road Rail Station — 1.4 miles
Ryde Esplanade Rail Station — 1.8 miles
Ferry ports
Ryde Hoverport — 1.8 miles
Ryde Pier Head Ferry Terminal — 2.2 miles
Fishbourne IOW Ferry Terminal — 2.2 miles
Airports
Southampton Airport — 18.5 miles
Bournemouth International Airport — 29.1 miles

Directions


From the Fishbourne Ferry Terminal - turn right when exiting the ferry terminal. At the traffic lights, turn left onto the A3054 heading towards Ryde. Continue on this road until you reach the outskirts of Ryde and then, at the traffic lights, carry straight ahead (signposted 'all through traffic') along Pellhurst Road. At the end of Pellhurst Road, turn right onto Upton Road. When you reach the mini-roundabout at Upton, continue straight ahead. Turn left at the gate and continue 80 yards ahead into the park.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

How we love the Isle of Wight, which has pretty much all we ever want to do on a holiday, all in one compact islandy goodness: beaches, history, nature, a steam railway, more beaches, a zoo, a vineyard and even dinosaurs…

Many of the Isle's sands are within a short drive of Roebeck Camping and Caravan Park, but start out first at famed Appley Beach to see Puckpool Park, miles of sandy shoreline and the gothic Victorian landmark Appley Tower, where the kids can tire themselves out while adults soak up the sun and the smashing views across Ryde to Portsmouth.

(Also for the grownups: Rosemary Vineyard at Newport is one of England's biggest – and has free admission.)

Tire the kids out too at the award-winning Isle of Wight Zoo, which has Britain's biggest collection of tigers, or by letting them get up close to the penguins, meerkats and other inhabitants of Seaview Wildlife Encounter on the north coast. Endangered species can be seen among the rainforests of Amazon World Park at Sandown.

We'd also (highly) recommend a puff on the Isle of Wight Steam Railway, chuffing along a five-mile course from Wootton to Smallbrook Junction, and at least an afternoon at award-winning Brading Roman Villa, one of our fave Roman sites in all the land.

But we did mention dinosaurs? Tire the little tykes out once and for all with a day at Dinosaur Isle, one of the Isle of Wight's most topping attractions and filled with fossils, mega 'saurus facts and loads of guided walks and exhibitions. Best of all? It's less than four miles from base - how riproaring good is that.

Must see

  • Isle of Wight Steam Railway (1.7 miles)
  • Dinosaur Isle (3.8 miles)
  • Osborne House (5.1 miles)

National Trust

  • Bembridge Windmill (3.9 miles)
  • Newtown Old Town Hall (9.9 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  12 p.m. –  6:30 p.m.
Depart:  11 a.m.

Late arrivals must notify the campsite as soon as possible.

Roebeck Camping and Caravan Park cancellation policy

No refunds after 8 weeks of booking.

For cancellation more than 30 days before arrival, 50% of the balance will be non-refundable
For cancellations 29 days before arrival, 100% of the balance will be non-refundable.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. Roebeck Camping and Caravan Park will debit the balance from your card 6 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 6 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Bank transfer
Cash
Cheque
Maestro
MasterCard
PayPal
Postal order
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Roebeck Camping and Caravan Park


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.
The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act.

Extras
A charge of 20p applies for the use of shower.

Close