Book and review 8,691 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Roebeck Camping and Caravan Park

7.8

This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
Find nearby sites with availability…

If you are the owner of this site, start taking bookings through Pitchup.com by adding your business details.

General

  • Family-run park on 14 acres of pasture and woodland
  • Well-stocked coarse fishing lake open all season
  • A mile from Ryde and two from Appley Beach

We reckon you'll roe beck to this Isle of Wight site once or twice at least after your first hol here – at least if you're an aficionado of Rydely special views, a mild micro climate, perfect peace and quiet, close proximity to the beach, and sitting serenely to bag a goodie at a park's own fishing lake...

There are some pretty good core values for a campsite at Roebeck Camping and Caravan Park on the Isle: for starters, its setting is only a couple of miles from Ryde's Appley Beach and so it's a super base from which to explore the Solent by car, public transport or on foot. And it has simply smashing views over the Isle's Ashey Valley and the downs to the south. (And it's only a few miles by car ferry from Portsmouth too: great pip.)

Roebeck is family-run and has been under new management since 2015; it has pitches for tents, tourers and motorhomes including optional electric hook-up in a well drained, sheltered field, and family Sioux-style tipis set near the fishing lake. The shower and loo block is kept to high standards and includes laundry facilities; there's also a small campers' kitchen available with fridge, kettle, microwave and several sockets.

The site has 14 acres of pasture and woodland to lose oneself in – have a look at the pics to see of what we speak – including plenty of wooded areas to walk the family pooch, and picnic areas aplenty for sparking up the campfire. (Well-behaved dogs are very welcome, but do please keep them on leads while on site; there are lots of opps for off-lead coast and countryside walkies all around.)

Ryde is a mere five minutes away by car and is stuffed with cafés, restaurants and bars at which to get a bite or two; a Tesco hypermarket is a short drive away, and a small convenience store within a couple of minutes in the car.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

7.8

Overall rating based on 43 reviews

 

81% would recommend this site to a friend.

77% would stay here again.

 

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters

Enjoyable stay, staff really friendly, pitches huge, 18/08/2017

v_e

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The open space, wildlife, large pitches and able to have a camp fire and the sound of the steam train in the distance!

    Ive read some of the reviews written and some are just ridiculous. This is a spacious site with pitches for everyone whether a caravan, tent or motorhome choosing a flat field, woodland or communal ground. Yes you have to pay for a shower in the main block but its 20p , its advertised on the website and its 20ps worth of lovely hot water! There are other showers and toilets on the site located closer to each section which are free. All toilets had a plentiful supply of toilet rolls so there is no worry of finding none if you need to pay a visit in the night. We were warned the ground was soft on arrival and we parked sensibly....no dramas...and no one can help or predict the British weather.
    Just returned from a short break. Had 2 huge pitches with friends on level pitches half way down the site as needed electric but the woodland part at the bottom looked really lovely if you can do without electric. Had a camp fire every night which is a must for us so we can chat whilst toasting marshmallows! Staff really friendly, stopping to chat or help when passing and the owners are obviously doing ongoing improvements to the site.
    The lakes are full of wildlife and birds. People were fishing and having fun teaching children. Plenty of bins and recycling points. Kitchen with a fridge and freezer so you can re freeze your cool packs and plugs to charge phones. Free wifi up in the top field and plenty of lovely books to choose to read. Hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did.

    Disliked: 

    Absolutely nothing.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Lovely site , friendly staff but toilet/showers need work 16/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Nina B. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Grounds , large location & situation

    Disliked: 

    Loos & toilets - not enough & very old & tatty

From the manager...

Thank you for your very positive feedback.

We are in the process of rebuilding an ablution block in the lower fields, although the one there is hardly old and tatty. As the North Field will be now only luxury lodges from the end of August.

We do have a high 3 star rating with AA and we do not pretend to be anything other than 3 star. This is in fact all over our literature.

We do look forward to welcoming you back.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Friendly, not restricted to small pitch. We were told we ... 16/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Sonja S. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Friendly, not restricted to small pitch. We were told we could camp anywhere within 3 fields.

    Kind man helped get us out of mud with our van.

    Disliked: 

    Not suitable for camper van as very muddy and on slopes so van got stuck on which ever space was available. Not level pitches. We were asked to move after 4 days as we were in an electic hook up space as this was one of the only spots we could get to without getting stuck. We couldn't find a suitable spot so we had to move campsites to a less muddly location. We were not helped in trying to find a more suitable location on site as the campsite seemed more occupied with future event ant bookings.

From the manager...

We are sorry you decided to move campsite for the last 12 hours of your holiday. There was no mud in the North Field although we had experienced an absolute downpour in the week you stayed. Unfortunately, we have in the UK experienced the worst weather in some many decades for the school holidays - which we find upsetting as it impacts on most people's holidays. I'm afraid we cannot be held responsible for the rainfall. Maybe speak to the MET office!

We were/ and are not preoccupied with other visitors arriving. The site is, if anything, overly manned during the main holiday season. Even owners are there to help and assist.

You have marked us down for your own accommodation- which is perplexing - maybe you should re-evaluate!

We are, again, a high 3 star site and do not pretend to be other than that...

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Location Facilities 15/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Victoria C. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location
    Facilities

    Disliked: 

    Ground very uneven making putting up table chairs and camping equipment difficult.
    Track through the site very rough full of holes kept scraping the bottom of the car.
    Lots of rubbish around the campsite.

From the manager...

You were the only person to have trouble with the roads. The only way you could damage your car is if you were not observing the 5 mile speed limit - its in place for a reason.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Clean electric pitch with helpful staff 08/08/2017

karen_s170156 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nice flat pitch at top of campsite, helpful staff and clean grass

    Disliked: 

    Not a dislike but a tip: if you can go non electric the pitches at the bottom of the site are nicer, amongst the woods and near a lake, a bit more off grid, the electric ones at the top are overlooked by bungalows but near the shower block

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

A reasonable sight: modern, clean and run by friendly staff. 08/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Daniel H. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    I was on a motorcycling weekend, and the staff had the foresight to put me with two other bikers. Facilities were modern and clean.

    Disliked: 

    I would give the site four stars but two of the male shower cubicles had doors that couldn't be locked. The campsite is on a slight incline which can prevent one having the ideal pitch. Could do with some extra play equipment for children.

From the manager...

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you would recommend us and visit us again.

Not sure what happened with male shower cubicles but will look into it, must be very simple to resolve.

We do not in anyway promote children's play area - in fact quite the opposite.
We understand you were travelling alone! Acres of space to run around in which is far healthier!

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Very Friendly staff and helpfull 02/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom celedonio-edward_m Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very Friendly staff and helpfull

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for your time in reviewing us. We very much look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Beautiful surroundings with friendly staff. 29/07/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom richard_p205866 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful surroundings with friendly staff.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for your lovely review. We very much hope to see you again.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

No level pitches. 16/07/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom steve_k165515 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    There is nothing I liked about this site

    Disliked: 

    On arrival (Sunday) the site looked lovely I was surprised to see reception was a small blue metal container but the staff seemed very friendly. I was taken off in a buggy to be shown two potential pitches as building work was due to start on the Monday so didn't want us to be disturbed during our stay. There were a number of touring caravans on permanent pitches which had been there for some time and a couple of tents but the rest of the site was on a slope/hill. We were in the furthest field from reception and realised that the toilets were portaloos and showers too which was disappointing. The water tap was up a bank very hard to fill ackroll up along with the electric hook up (good job I had along lead). The site had a shower block but it was quite a distance from our pitch and all up hill. Definitely not a site for disabled campers and uneven gravel track throughout the site even a standard car would struggle. At least we were in the quiet area so we thought. On Tuesday a long arm digger arrived and was digging from 8am until 5pm and dumper trucks going up the hill to top area to work on static foundations so much for keeping us out of the way! The workmen burnt wood and rubbish not far from our caravan during the day when we were out and we came back to find it was still burning when we got back and they had gone. It seems that the site really caters for static caravans and permanent lodges/bungalows rather than tourers so would avoid this site at all costs! The shower block had a coin box in which you had to pay 20p (3 mins) for a shower but it was only charged in the ladies not men's? We didn't have any welcome pack to tell us of site facilities or local area so literally had to find out for ourselves. Wouldn't stay there again!

From the manager...

Thank you for the feedback which has left us dumbfounded. You state you chose your own pitch! There is no work going on in the North Field whatsoever (I.e nearest facilities). You have scored us down on child friendliness, you were a mature couple with no children and accommodation is extremely poorly marked and yet you supplied your own accommodation.

I am not sure whether anyone reads the pages prior to booking, but bearing in mind there is no secret regarding 0.20p for showers as it's literally all over our page!

Again, you stayed for the duration and made absolutely no complaint whatsoever to anyone.

You spoke to everyone including one of the owners and stated all was good!

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

great camp site looking forward to coming back 12/07/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Wayne W. Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    great camp site looking forward to coming back

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to leave such wonderful feedback. We very much look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

Drainage hook-up points for tourers

Fully serviced pitches

Seasonal pitches

Tourer storage facilities

Water hook-up points for tourers

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Forest

Lake and/or mountain

Leave the car at home

Peaceful

Remote location

Spectacular scenery

Walkers' paradise

Wild camping

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Climbing nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Outdoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Surf school nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Medium (26-50 pitches)

Camping 2.0

Jumbo tent pitches

Tipis, yurts, or wigwams

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Roebeck Country Park, Gate House Road, Upton Ryde, Isle Of Wight, England, PO33 4BP
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 50.7094°N 1.1771°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Southsea: Clarence Pier Coach Stop — 6.3 miles
Portsmouth: The Hard Interchange — 6.8 miles
Portsmouth: Southsea Coach Stop — 7.0 miles
Train stations
Smallbrook Junction Rail Station — 1.0 miles
Ryde St Johns Road Rail Station — 1.4 miles
Ryde Esplanade Rail Station — 1.8 miles
Ferry ports
Ryde Hoverport — 1.8 miles
Ryde Pier Head Ferry Terminal — 2.2 miles
Fishbourne IOW Ferry Terminal — 2.2 miles
Airports
Southampton Airport — 18.5 miles
Bournemouth International Airport — 29.1 miles

Directions


From the Fishbourne Ferry Terminal - turn right when exiting the ferry terminal. At the traffic lights, turn left onto the A3054 heading towards Ryde. Continue on this road until you reach the outskirts of Ryde and then, at the traffic lights, carry straight ahead (signposted 'all through traffic') along Pellhurst Road. At the end of Pellhurst Road, turn right onto Upton Road. When you reach the mini-roundabout at Upton, continue straight ahead. Turn left at the gate and continue 80 yards ahead into the park.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

How we love the Isle of Wight, which has pretty much all we ever want to do on a holiday, all in one compact islandy goodness: beaches, history, nature, a steam railway, more beaches, a zoo, a vineyard and even dinosaurs…

Many of the Isle's sands are within a short drive of Roebeck Camping and Caravan Park, but start out first at famed Appley Beach to see Puckpool Park, miles of sandy shoreline and the gothic Victorian landmark Appley Tower, where the kids can tire themselves out while adults soak up the sun and the smashing views across Ryde to Portsmouth.

(Also for the grownups: Rosemary Vineyard at Newport is one of England's biggest – and has free admission.)

Tire the kids out too at the award-winning Isle of Wight Zoo, which has Britain's biggest collection of tigers, or by letting them get up close to the penguins, meerkats and other inhabitants of Seaview Wildlife Encounter on the north coast. Endangered species can be seen among the rainforests of Amazon World Park at Sandown.

We'd also (highly) recommend a puff on the Isle of Wight Steam Railway, chuffing along a five-mile course from Wootton to Smallbrook Junction, and at least an afternoon at award-winning Brading Roman Villa, one of our fave Roman sites in all the land.

But we did mention dinosaurs? Tire the little tykes out once and for all with a day at Dinosaur Isle, one of the Isle of Wight's most topping attractions and filled with fossils, mega 'saurus facts and loads of guided walks and exhibitions. Best of all? It's less than four miles from base - how riproaring good is that.

Must see

  • Isle of Wight Steam Railway (1.7 miles)
  • Dinosaur Isle (3.8 miles)
  • Osborne House (5.1 miles)

National Trust

  • Bembridge Windmill (3.9 miles)
  • Newtown Old Town Hall (9.9 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  12 p.m. –  6:30 p.m.
Depart:  11 a.m.

Late arrivals must notify the campsite as soon as possible.

Roebeck Camping and Caravan Park cancellation policy

No refunds after 8 weeks of booking.

For cancellation more than 30 days before arrival, 50% of the balance will be non-refundable
For cancellations 29 days before arrival, 100% of the balance will be non-refundable.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. Roebeck Camping and Caravan Park will debit the balance from your card 6 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 6 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Bank transfer
Cash
Cheque
Maestro
MasterCard
PayPal
Postal order
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Roebeck Camping and Caravan Park


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.
The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act.

Extras
A charge of 20p applies for the use of shower.

Close