Book and review 9,255 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Buckhurst Campsite

8.1
View prices & book
From £18/€20.62/A$32.12/US$23.87/CA$31.52/CHF23.82/SEK210.43/DKK153.63/NOK194.97/ISK2,580/ARS671.38/CLP15,105/PEN78.35/NZ$34.48/ZAR320.91/PLN88.35/R$89.09/CZK530.20/RSD2,431/HUF6,657.49/RUB1,504.82/CN¥153.74 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

General

  • Peaceful farm close to Hastings
  • Five beaches and two castles within five miles
  • Meals, picnics and hampers all available from onsite chef

Battle Abbey may be only three miles away, but a peaceful time is guaranteed down on this East Sussex farm a quick drive from Hastings.

Whatever you insist on doing while on hol, disagreements will be discouraged by the sheer amount of attractions and activities within a few minutes of Buckhurst Campsite: smuggling adventures, two castles, the 1066 Story and five Sussex beaches are all within ten miles; the campsite is among the walks, wildlife and Sussex scenery of the High Weald Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, and – most happily – a vineyard is within walking distance. Absolutely nothing to wine about here, then.

If despite agreeing on daytime activities there’s generally a slight kerfuffle among your family about who does the cooking, Buckhurst has an on-site chef who, with a bit of notice, will prepare, cook and pack a meal for you to pick up from reception and heat over your campfire.

Picnic, breakfast and welcome hampers are also available: you might particularly like the sound of the ‘romantic hamper’ with sweet treats, cava, strawberries and cream and Belgian chocolate, although you might not be sure you could share...

Amenities at Buckhurst Campsite are plentiful and include a refurbished toilet and shower block with hot water, a washing-up area, hand basins and drinking water.

Please note

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

8.1

Overall rating based on 133 reviews

 

80% would recommend this site to a friend.

75% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Lovely open site that allows open fires. Good facilities, friendly ... 11/06/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom martin m. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely open site that allows open fires. Good facilities, friendly staff, easy to find.

    Disliked: 

    They allow large groups of people, 2 groups on the night we visited and they were, predictably, noisy into the early hours.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Really beautiful brilliant campsite, would highly recommend. 11/06/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Jasmine I. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The friendly atmosphere, super clean facilities, helpful, friendly and flexible campsite staff.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Would stay here again. Cheap and cheerful 04/06/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Amy W. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The field itself and the surrounding areas. The staff were nice and helpful.

    Disliked: 

    The toilet block should be checked more frequently as one toilet seat was broke and they need to be cleaned more.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Great location, clean facilities, nice people 04/06/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Lucy A. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We had a great couple of days at Buckhurst. It’s a basic campsite, however clean showers and toilet block which is very important. Sainsbury’s is only a mile down the road for any essentials that might have been forgotten. Great location, close to Hastings beach and many other places of interest. Our children had a great time, running around on the field with balls, frisbees and rackets

    Disliked: 

    A couple of guys who worked and lived on the site permanently played loud music until quite late. We were unfortunately next to them and our 4yr old struggled to get to sleep. We were told we were in the family field so as not to have loud music played, there is another field for party people.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Great location but lack of policing & poor cleaning facilities 04/06/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Ben D. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Expecting it to be heaving as half term week but when we pitched up only 3 other tents there.

    This meant we had the freedom to roam around and chill out which was excellent.

    Location is excellent and is served by a bus into Hastings every two hours. Only negative here is bus home is at 18.12 which means no evenings in town - unless you pay a pretty reasonable £15 back for cab.

    The birds in the trees were cool and the rabbits that popped up every now and again was nice.

    One dude is a live in warden and was helpful with offering of firelogs and seemed to help campers get there camp up.

    Disliked: 

    Showers were powerful and trying to take shower as quiet times not that productive as cold showers still the norm. Problem is, even though they are cleaned they are still pretty filthy. Back of the doors in particular look like they've been missed with every clean since built. Real build up of grease and dirt (amongst other things).

    Freezing cold water washing up and sinks were dirty. Can't blame the campsite for other people's mess but when there were only a few people camping thought they would have been pretty clean to begin with.

    Towards the end of the week more people arrived, large families that then become very noisy and annoying. Large floodlights until early hours, cars driving to shower block throughout the night because people too lazy to walk the 50 meters to and fro.

    One camp in particular having fun but squeeching and shouting until gone 3am on the Saturday without a care for anyone or anything. Same family spitting over the floors in the shower - just scum and put a real dampener on what was an excellent first few days.

    Lastly, bit of confusion which panicked us. After returning from town on Saturday evening we were then asked why we hadn't left yet by campsite owner. Bit of unwanted confusion and had to explain that we booked and paid for 5 nights (it was also in black and white on the sheet of paper being presented). Meant the evening wasn't as chilled as it should have been.

From the manager...

Hi Ben

Thank you for your review. I see you wrote that you was asked why you hadn't left Saturday. I never asked why you haven't left I asked if you was staying again as when you signed in the signing in book on the day of your arrival in black and white you wrote that you was leaving Saturday not Sunday. Slight confusions on both sides.

Never the less I hope you enjoyed your stay.

Many thanks

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Large pitch space and shower block. We have been a ... 03/06/2018

andyjackson Mobile phone icon

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Large pitch space and shower block.

    We have been a few time over the past 4 years and every time no matter the time the site owners remember us and embarrass my son by saying how tall his got and how much he looks like me (poor sole) .

    The site is not glamping. It has everything you need and nothing you don't. Each time we've been it's been full of lovely, friendly families enjoying a great time like us.

    We love the site and will go for as long as they will have us.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Basic, clean, friendly site, close to attractions. 02/06/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom lizzie b. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Close to Hastings. Friendly. Clean toilets and showers. Plenty hot water in showers although low pressure. Not busy when we stayed, so managed to get quiet pitch.

    Disliked: 

    Reception never open. Washing up facilities very basic (no hot water and no plugs.) Onsite manager had petrol generator running till quite late.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Very good and enjoyable. Facilities were clean and staff were friendly 30/05/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Martyn B. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Good atmosphere and fairly quiet.

    Disliked: 

    Cold water.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Level pitches 30/05/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Edina K. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Family friendly with campfire, dogs, ice cream :)

    Disliked: 

    Not enough warm water for shower on busy days. Washing up area with only cold water 😕

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Once the bank holiday rush was over it was a ... 30/05/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Shahid D. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Once the bank holiday rush was over it was a nice experience. The site is close to Hastings.

    Disliked: 

    We arrived on a bank holiday weekend. There were no marked out pitches so we had to just find a space to pitch the tent. The toilet and showers are not enough for the amount of people on this weekend. They were dirty and on such a weekend they need to be cleaned every hour. Would only go back avoiding a bank holiday.

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Tents for hire

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Luxury

Peaceful

Walkers' paradise

Nearby leisure

Cycle hire nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Farm

Large (51-200 pitches)

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Bluemans Lane, Sedlescombe, East Sussex, England, TN33 0SE
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 50.9120°N 0.5512°E

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Hastings: Sedlescombe Rd North Coach Stop — 1.6 miles
Battle: Abbey Green Coach Stop — 2.9 miles
Hastings: Town Centre Coach Stops — 4.1 miles
Train stations
Battle Rail Station — 2.5 miles
Doleham Rail Station — 2.6 miles
Crowhurst Rail Station — 2.7 miles
Ferry ports
Newhaven Harbour Ferry Terminal — 23.3 miles
Folkestone Eurotunnel Terminal — 27.8 miles
Airports
Lydd London Ashford Airport — 17.0 miles

Directions


We are just off of the A21 as you are heading towards Hastings, Bluemans Lane. If coming from Hastings, pass Claremont School and keep going along the A21. You will come across a little farm shop: we are opposite.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Battlefield boffins have the history and highlights of 1066 and all that a couple of minutes’ drive away at Battle Abbey and Battlefield, site of the famous showdown between King Harold and William the Conqueror (there’s a clue there for the kids as to who won).

The heady fare here including visitor centre with CGI re-enactment, events and the abbey itself should entice all ages; if this fires up the kids’ historical imaginations, another 1066 experience is at nearby Hastings Castle (both recommended).

Reach Hastings Castle via one of the two cliff railways, West Hill and East Hill Lifts, and do remember to look down; East Hill Lifts is the steepest funicular railway in the country and has smashing views over Hastings Country Park where it ends up.

Kids castled out? Hastings has heaps of other family things to do: start off at the seafront’s Hastings Miniature Railway, which runs to old fishing village Rock-a-Nore where you can pick up some local seafood, dive into the exhibits of the Fishermen’s Village or take a boat out to land your own scaly specimens.

The famous Hastings Fishmarket, where most of the Hastings’s daily catch is sold after being landed at The Stade, is on Rock-a-nore Road, the town’s shingle beach which has been a maritime centre for over a millennia and which now has the biggest beachside fishing fleet in Europe. Check out the area’s tales at the Shipwreck Museum and at the Lifeboat Station and Visitors’ Centre, or take a boat trip out to find your own deep sea wreck.

If your history interests – or more likely, the kids’ – tend towards the more nefarious, a big local treasure is St Clements Caves back on West Hill, which tells the tales of the area’s smuggling exploits via Hairy Jack and the team.

At White Rock Gardens in the town, Clambers Play Centre has huge indoor and outdoor play areas for all ages and picnic tables, café and free parking; while retail therapy can be had at the Priory Meadow Shopping Centre near Hastings’s seafront.

Walks through 1066 Country and the High Wealds AONB are also easily accessible, as are Sussex beaches; a golf course at Battle and a golf school in Rother and stacks of other Sussex highlights such as sweet English vineyards, theme parks, watersports and cycling the Sussex Downs.

Must see

  • 1066 Battle Abbey and Battlefield (2.8 miles)
  • Hastings Castle and 1066 Story (4.1 miles)
  • A Smugglers Adventure at St Clements Caves (4.1 miles)

National Trust

  • Bodiam Castle (6.2 miles)
  • Lamb House (8.3 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  12 p.m. –  6 p.m.
Depart:  12 p.m.
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  Anytime –  Anytime
Depart:  12 p.m.

Reception is unmanned after 6pm. Please call using the number in the confirmation email if you are arriving later.

Buckhurst Campsite cancellation policy

Balance refunds: no penalties

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now.

The remainder is payable on arrival.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Cash

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Buckhurst Campsite


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.
Guide dogs are allowed on site free of charge.
The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act.

General
Quiet hours must be respected between 11 p.m. and 9 a.m..
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and boots must be closed quietly.
Recreational vehicles such as motorised scooters or quad bikes are not permitted.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Reception
Reception is unmanned after 6 p.m.. Please inform the site while on your way there should you expect to arrive after this time, so that the team can provide information about your unit/pitch.

Visitors
Visitors must register at reception and pay their fee.

Additional terms

Day visitors are permitted between 10am - 5.30pm

Close