Book and review 9,109 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Claylands Caravan Park

9.1
View prices & book
From £20/€22.90/A$36.82/US$27.87/CA$35.78/CHF27.39/kr238.50/kr170.62/kr222.03/kr2,818/$564.24/$16,832/PEN90.34/NZ$39.40/R346.90/zł96.78/R$97.11/Kč583.08/RSD2,706/Ft7,176.14/₽1,740.20/CN¥176.34 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

General

  • Family-owned park on the banks of the River Wyre
  • Carefully landscaped wildlife haven with over 5000 trees
  • Four well-stocked and well-maintained fishing ponds

If you're a sucker for a place with a bit of family heritage, have a look at Claylands Caravan Park. The Robinsons have owned Claylands for more than 50 years, when it was a simple 14-acre farm; since then, it’s been transformed into a landscaped holiday park, while keeping an edge of wilderness.

This lush place is on the banks of the River Wyre, surrounded by more than 5000 indigenous trees and in a haven for wildlife and birdwatching: look out for squirrels, foxes, deer, rabbits and around 85 different species of bird. On site are carefully pruned hedges, shrubs and trees, loads of green space, and excellent amenities including a modern shower and toilet block, a laundry room, and drinking water taps and waste water disposal points all around.

Anglers will be well chuffed with the four well-stocked and well-maintained fishing ponds, abundant with roach, carp and tench: to be in with your fishing chance, arrive with your kit and the appropriate licence, and pick up a day ticket from the family team. Other facilities on site include a handy shop for the essentials, as well as a kids' adventure playground swish enough to make grownups green with envy.

Light snacks and homemade meals can be had at Stepping Stones Riverside Bar and Restaurant, just adjacent to the park (open Tuesday-Sunday all year round), which has a takeaway service, pretty views from inside the restaurant and a spacious garden for dining outside.

Gold David Bellamy Conservation Award

Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.1

Overall rating based on 59 reviews

 

92% would recommend this site to a friend.

88% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

pretty much everything 23/04/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom steven f. Confirmed

  • Fully-serviced hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    pretty much everything

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Superb site with lovely surroundings, spotless facilities and all staff ... 23/04/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom lisa c. Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Superb site with lovely surroundings, spotless facilities and all staff where friendly and helpful. Will definitely visit again.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

fully serviced almost level pitch within easy reach of all ... 22/04/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Jon W. Confirmed

  • Fully-serviced hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    fully serviced almost level pitch within easy reach of all of the amenities.

    the restaurant was a real find ! the food was amazing and they had a great selection of gin which went down well

    we thought the cost was very reasonable and the staff were friendly, in general the site and the grounds were extremely well presented.

    I would use this site again and would recommend it as a nice touring park

    Disliked: 

    the only downside to our stay was outside of the parks control in that the bins were emptied at six am and as we were less than thirty feet from the bin store the noise woke us with a start.
    not a great problem for us but had we have had children in the van it could have been a different story

    paying for wifi in this day and age is not really on ( its free in the bar though)

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Excellent 5 star 22/04/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom David W. Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Clean and well laid out

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Child & pet friendly site with clean facilities & easy to access site. 17/04/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Mark S. Confirmed

  • Fully-serviced hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Quiet, scenic, friendly, clean

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for your review, we are very lucky to be in such a scenic location and glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Lovely site, clean & well maintained, friendly staff 16/04/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Kelly A. Confirmed

  • Fully-serviced hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely,clean, well maintained site, toilets were spotless all weekend.

    Staff in the Stepping Stones restaurant were really friendly & polite, we had friends with a 4 yr old and were given a colouring book & crayons for her, food was excellent, great value for money and plenty of it!

    We had 3 girls with us, 14, 11 & 4 who all enjoyed the park, there is also a river next to the restaurant and plenty to do in the area.

    We will definitely return soon.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing to dislike!

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, we are glad to hear the upgraded park has done the trick and is great for a variety of ages of children.

We hope to see you again soon.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Good park, some occupants need banning...... 15/04/2018

dave_b233412 Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Andrew was most helpful, site very well kept, very clean and toilet/shower block excellent. Excellent for local amenities.

    Disliked: 

    A lot of train noise, no wind so not dependant on wind direction. Most touring pitches are under large pylons, lots of static noise. Worst for us there were about 6 semi permanent pitches, occupied by "trades people". Noisy until 1am at night, log fire going, dogs barking, very very loud (although park rules said no noise after 11pm), left next day, a day early (lost £30), as we spotted more logs and a larger burner arriving, imagined it would have got even noisier. Will not be returning, shame because the owner seemed to be a good guy and obviously prides himself on the parks appearance.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Nothing to do 26/02/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Andrew D. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Fully-serviced hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nothing really

    Disliked: 

    The fact there was no evening entertainment although stated on facilities Also noise from trains

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your visit.
We are very sorry that you didn’t enjoy your visit as it is very important to us to do all we can to make sure our visitors have a great time.
When you visited, the Park had only just reopened after the winter closure and the weekend entertainment programme only really starts at Easter, so we are very sorry that you were disappointed that it was quieter than you had hoped. The entertainment programme will soon be outlined fully on our website once it has been updated and we encourage our visitors to check this.
We are afraid that we are unable to do anything about the trains, the only positive thing is that with the prevailing wind mainly tending to blow from the west to the east, people don’t usually find them too much of a problem. Unfortunately, when you visited, it the wind had changed direction and was coming from the east, so the train noise was more noticeable.
If there are any other areas where you feel that we could improve please don’t hesitate to contact us direct as we are always striving to improve the experience which our guests and visitors have.

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Excellent clean friendly food amazing 30/01/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom angela_s322316 Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Always a pleasure to stay at claylands
    Site pitches really good
    Great fishing
    Stepping Stone Restaurant is lovely and food is amazing
    Garstang is easily accessible good taxi service
    We will be back very soon

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Thank you for the positive feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay, and the food!
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit :)

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Great site.....cant go wrong going hre 22/01/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Andrew L. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great site..very clean & friendly..

    Disliked: 

    Nothimg

From the manager...

Thank you for your lovely feedback, nice to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.

We shall look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Local produce

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

Drainage hook-up points for tourers

Fully serviced pitches

Hard standings

Seasonal pitches

Tourer storage facilities

Water hook-up points for tourers

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Peaceful

Spectacular scenery

Walkers' paradise

Wildlife haven

Nearby leisure

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Medium (26-50 pitches)

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Cabus, Preston, Lancashire, England, PR3 1AJ
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 53.9295°N 2.7684°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Garstang (Lancs): Crofters Hotel Coach Stop — 1.4 miles
Galgate: Crossroads Coach Stop — 4.4 miles
Lancaster: University Underpass Coach Stop — 5.6 miles
Train stations
Lancaster Rail Station — 8.4 miles
Heysham Port Rail Station — 9.3 miles
Bare Lane Rail Station — 10.4 miles
Ferry ports
Heysham Ferry Terminal — 9.3 miles
Knott End-On-Sea Ferry Landing — 9.3 miles
Fleetwood for Knott End Ferry Landing — 9.7 miles
Airports
Liverpool John Lennon Airport — 41.1 miles

Directions


Leave the M6 at junction 32 and head north towards Garstang or leave the M6 at junction 33 and head south for Garstang. We are just off the A6 on the banks of the River Wyre overlooking the Forest of Bowland, 1 mile north of Garstang and 8 miles south of Lancaster. The entrance is well signposted 1000 yards south of Quattro's Restaurant.

Alternatively, leave junction 2 of the M6 and head north for approximately 8 miles. Claylands Park has a brown marker 250 yards from the entrance to the park.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

You’ll find postcard-worthy surroundings all about Claylands. Water fans can meander along the winding banks of the River Wyre (so winding in fact, this is how the river got its name) and take a stroll on the river’s footpaths; Lancaster Canal is also nearby for lazy waterside ambles.

The good news is that the river really is right on the doorstep at Claylands, so all you have to decide is which way you want to go. (If you’re really stuck, the staff on site will be more than happy to point you in the right direction, and reception is full of information leaflets and people ready to share their local knowledge.)

Or you could just amble about snapping shots of this Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty... The market town of Garstang, five minutes' drive from Claylands, is an excellent option for this latter, as its whitewashed cottages, uneven streets and country drinkeries may make the imaginative feel like they're in a Jane Austen novel.

Further afield, Blackpool is half an hour away, and both the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales are reachable in under 40 minutes.

Must see

  • Beacon Fell Country Park (5.6 miles)
  • Lancaster Castle (8.4 miles)
  • Forest of Bowland (12.5 miles)

National Trust

  • Cartmel Priory Gatehouse (20.2 miles)
  • Rufford Old Hall (20.2 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  1 p.m. –  Anytime
Depart:  12 p.m.
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  1 p.m. –  11:30 p.m.
Depart:  12 p.m.

Claylands Caravan Park cancellation policy

No refunds within 1 week of arrival date.

Up to 22 days before arrival - full refund of balance of payment
21-8 days before arrival - 50% refund of balance of payment

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. Claylands Caravan Park will debit the balance from your card 3 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 3 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Cash
Maestro
MasterCard
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Claylands Caravan Park


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.

Additional terms

There is a charge of £6 per person per day to fish; a licence (available from the post office) is required and you must have your own fishing equipment.

Close