Book and review 9,105 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Bardsea Leisure Park

8.1
View prices & book
From £23.95/€27.32/A$43.78/US$33.53/CA$42.82/CHF32.73/kr283.56/kr203.49/kr262.63/kr3,366/$677.05/$20,007/PEN108.21/NZ$46.56/R405.67/zł114.09/R$114.47/Kč693.16/RSD3,221/Ft8,491.75/₽2,059.42/CN¥211.44 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

General

  • Friendly park in south Cumbria's Furness Peninsula
  • A mile from Ulverston
  • Large play area for kids and a pond

We do like the Furness Peninsula in south Cumbria. First up, as its name might imply, it juts into the sea (we like sea). And much of it is in the Lake District (we also like). And it has the island of Walney, and it borders Windermere, and has miles and miles of coastline to dive into – we very much like all these things too.

And on the peninsula, sheltered within a former quarry, is friendly family-run Bardsea Leisure Park. It's a well-regarded and popular place only a mile from the market town of Ulverston, eight from Windermere and less than four from wild days out at the South Lakes Wild Animal Park.

The loo and shower blocks are roomy and with underfloor heating (we like); other facilities include a launderette, washing-up area, a big play area for kids complete with a pond, a dog exercise area and a large accessory shop and service centre. Wifi is available for an additional charge.

And another exemplary thing about Bardsea Leisure Park? It's open all year round for winter beach walks and frosty lakeside hikes – something else we very much like.

Please note

Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

8.1

Overall rating based on 59 reviews

 

76% would recommend this site to a friend.

75% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Fantastic services , toilet, shop, location etc.Very quiet and peaceful. 09/04/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Karen S. Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Fantastic services , toilet, shop, location etc.Very quiet and peaceful.

    Disliked: 

    Pitches very cramped, access quite tight with sales vans on approach road.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Nice staff, great toilets !!! 06/04/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Julie B. Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The site is situated on a site that sells a lot of caravans, and motor homes, you drive through the entrance of the vans for sale then you come to the main site,
    It’s quiet and secluded, not much to look at on site just other vans, not much for scenery on site, the showers and toilets are great, warm and hot showers, clean and tidy, staff very helpful,
    We had a nice few days there.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Looks like they deal with sales rather than touring customers. 24/03/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Yvonne W. Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The facilities were clean plenty of hot water.

    Disliked: 

    Building work being done couldn't move for caravans, pitches very close together. The staff weren't very friendly, and barley acknowledge you,Wouldn't return.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Not a nice vibe, wouldn't want to stay there again. 08/03/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Gab M. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Showers, nice to have all in one shower and underfloor heating is nice.

    Disliked: 

    Not a nice site at all, full of new caravans/camper vans everywhere, when we came back 2nd night there was a new caravan in our pitch, when asked the warden was just told to go fin another, staff weren't friendly at all.

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Wouldn’t use again!! 26/02/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Paul S. Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location

    Disliked: 

    Shower blocks ( shabby, lacking squeegee for cleaning after use ).
    Vans too tightly sited.

From the manager...

We are so sorry to read your review as we hope that all our customers have an enjoyable stay, however we are surprised that you felt the showers were shabby as they were refurbished just over 18 months ago with further refurbishment planned for this coming year, and as you may have seen in previous reviews we regularly receive positive comments with customers claiming that we have "the best shower blocks they have ever seen". It is nice that you are obviously a tidy and thoughtful person by your suggestion of a "squeegee" to use after showering and we will take your comments into consideration, however, I would like to mention that the shower blocks are cleaned twice daily. With regard to caravans being "tightly sited", we can only apologise as we are currently undergoing a major development on park, this development will benefit all our customers as we are building a new office space which will make check-in easier, and with the addition of a café will also increase the services we can offer to make your stay even more enjoyable, however during the developments it has meant that we need to temporarily move some of our sales stock onto vacant pitches, in some cases we need to store 2 caravans on the same pitch so I can appreciate it might seem they are "tightly sited". We always face a challenge at the start of the year due to stock pressure, and we have previously considered reducing our season to avoid any negative reviews, however we also have a large number of regular customers who value the fact that we are one of the few touring parks in the Lakes to offer a 12 month season. Hopefully you might consider re-booking with us at a later date when our works have been completed and review us again.We do value all feedback and your comments will help to shape how we communicate with our customers moving forward, kind regards Jason

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Toilets showers were clean 23/02/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Amanda B. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Toilets showers were clean

    Disliked: 

    Paid for WiFi but was off for most of the night, very cramped, a place that sells Motorhome’s and caravans and they were everywhere!

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to add your review and we are sorry that your stay wasn't 100 positive. We always try to ensure we meet customers expectations so I'm disappointed that you weren't able to get the WIFI you paid for, due to our unique setting on odd occasions we can experience the odd lose of signal in the WIFI but that happens again in the future please let us know so that we can address the issue for you. The beginning of the year is the busiest in terms of new caravans and motorhomes arriving on park, and with the current building developments we have been forced to store some of our stock on vacant pitches on touring site, so whilst we apologise that there seems to be an excess of sales units around we do hope that you can appreciate that this is a temporary measure whilst we aim to continue to move our business forward for the benefit of our customers, kind regards Jason

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Clean facilities 17/02/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom lawrence_c296869 Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Hot showers, welcome at reception.

    Disliked: 

    Car parked on our pitch when we arrived.

From the manager...

Thank you for your great review, we do inform people that they need to park their car in front of the caravans but, people being people, if they don't see a caravan on a pitch they assume the pitch is empty, and don't consider that there may a motorhome or another customer due on the pitch at any time, but we will take your comments and discuss if we can devise a better way of preventing this occurring in the future, kind regards Jason

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Just a good honest warm and welcoming place.... 05/02/2018

peter_b150134 Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Staff were excellent,friendly and very helpful.

    This was our 1st outing in our 1st ever Motorhome and we flattened the battery overnight. They came up and and tried to jump the battery but it was too far gone so we called the breakdown service and they came well after the sites 11am departure time...no hassle and let us stay hooked up to the EHU. Breakdown arrived and got us up and running straight way.

    On a site note all the toilets and showers were clean and heated which was great. They’rein the process of having major extension to the reception and service building and will be adding a cafe.

    All in all a pleasant stay....Excellent 👍🏻

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for your positive comments, we always aim to be as accommodating and helpful as possible and we due hope you will revisit us when the building work is complete and come and enjoy a Latte & bacon buttie, kind regards Jason

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

shower facilities 22/01/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom David R. Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    shower facilities

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thanks for a great review, we look forward to welcoming you back soon, regards Jason

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Was like staying on a sales pitch. Only stayed one ... 20/01/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Marion M. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Was like staying on a sales pitch. Only stayed one night out of two. Shower room was good but don't think it is a place to advertise as camping. Sales maybe. Would not recommend.

    Disliked: 

    Being sat in the middle of vans for sale and very little people actually staying on there.

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to review our park and we are sorry that you chose to only stay the one night. As I am sure you noticed we are currently undergoing some major developments in order to improve our customer experience for the future, unfortunately this demands that we need to temporarily move some of our sales stock away from the building works and as we have a high number of stock units in the early part of the year, the only place we can relocate them to is vacant pitches on park. I appreciate that as a guest it might have felt like camping on the sales ground, but I would like to assure you that moving forward it is a short term solution in order to provide better and more modern facilities for all our customers, with hindsight we should have communicated our current situation to you so that you were prepared for your stay, we do hope that you might consider using us again in the future when the works are completed, kind regards Jason

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

Drainage hook-up points for tourers

Fully serviced pitches

Hard standings

Motorhome service point

Seasonal pitches

Tourer storage facilities

Water hook-up points for tourers

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Peaceful

Walkers' paradise

Wildlife haven

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Surf school nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Large (51-200 pitches)

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Prior Road, Ulverston, Cumbria, England, LA12 9QE
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 54.1818°N 3.0840°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Morecambe: Central Drive Bus Station — 11.6 miles
Bolton le Sands (Lancs): Coach Stop — 13.0 miles
Carnforth: Lancaster Rd Coach Stop — 13.3 miles
Train stations
Ulverston Rail Station — 0.9 miles
Dalton Rail Station — 4.3 miles
Cark Rail Station — 4.5 miles
Ferry ports
Lake Bank (Coniston) Ferry Landing — 8.2 miles
Roa Island Ferry Landing — 8.3 miles
Lakeside Windermere Ferry Landing — 8.4 miles
Airports
Liverpool John Lennon Airport — 59.1 miles

Directions


Leave the M6 motorway at Junction 36. Take the first sliproad sign posted Barrow-in-Furness, and then the first exit off the roundabout onto the A590. Stay on the A590 for approximately 20 miles passing through Newby Bridge, arrive at Ulverston and continue over the roundabout (Booth's supermarket is on the left).

At the second junction immediately after the pedestrian crossing, turn left and drive under the railway bridge. Continue on past the Old Farmhouse public house. Bardsea Leisure Park is 300 metres on the right.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

A cosy dip first: a swimming pool as well as an indoor/outdoor sports complex is only 300 metres from Bardsea Leisure Park.

Once refreshed, wander into the handsome market town of Ulverston for old buildings, cobbled streets and the Thursday and Saturday street markets selling fresh local produce. (An indoor market is open weekly too.)

A prettily landscaped 18-hole golf course is also in the area, but if you're feeling particularly energetic you might be up for a climb up Hoad Hill and the Sir John Barrow Monument from Ulverston's north east.

The tigers, giraffes, kangaroos, lemurs, monkey and more of the South Lakes Animal Park safari park are towards Barrow-in-Furness, as is the Dock Museum, a free attraction (often with special exhibitions) telling the story of Barrow as a shipbuilding town.

Off the peninsula, visit Walney Island and its nature reserve, or Roa Island to get the ferry over to the island of Piel.

And if you're off to Windermere, go via the restored steam trains of the Lakeside and Haverthwaite Railway to travel through the Lake District's sterling scenery and board a lake cruise at the end of your journey.

Must see

  • South Lakes Wild Animal Park (3.7 miles)
  • Holker Hall and Gardens (4.1 miles)
  • Lakeland Motor Museum (6.6 miles)

National Trust

  • Dalton Castle (4.5 miles)
  • Cartmel Priory Gatehouse (5.4 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  11 a.m. –  Anytime
Depart:  11 a.m.

Bardsea Leisure Park cancellation policy

No refunds within 5 days of arrival date.

For cancellations 5 days before arrival we are happy to move your stay to another date (subject to availability).

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

The balance is due 1 week after booking, or if the arrival date is sooner than 1 week after booking then the balance will be taken immediately.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Cheque
Maestro
MasterCard
PayPal
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Bardsea Leisure Park


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Vehicles
Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.
No vehicle movement between 11pm and 7am.

Close