Book and review 8,691 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Vale Of Pickering Caravan Park

9.6
View prices & book
From £12.60/€13.79/A$20.45/US$16.22/CA$20.42/CHF15.66/kr131.94/kr102.94/kr128.31/kr1,750/$283.78/$10,500/PEN52.68/NZ$22.21/R213.56/zł59.10/R$51.09/Kč360/RSD1,658 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

General

  • Landscaped site with trees, shrubs and flowers
  • Immaculately-maintained heated showers and loos
  • Licensed shop, launderette, caravan spares and gas cylinders for sale

The Pickering people have it sorted. The Vale of Pickering Caravan Park is crammed with trees, shrubs and flowerbeds, has views over the North Yorkshire countryside, and washrooms you would want to find anywhere.

The heated loos and showers are immaculate, there are private wash cubicles, an electric point for those all-important hairdryers and hair straighteners, and even a ladies’ make-up area. Best of all, there are ladies’ and gents’ baths – providing a long hot soak after a long hard day relaxing and sightseeing.

There are first-class facilities on site too, including a well-stocked licensed shop, a launderette, caravan spares and gas cylinders, a play area and a football pitch for the kids.

For food, there is a pub around 2.5 miles away, and the clever people at Pickering also have a visiting fish and chip van once or twice a week, or you can pick up some fresh local produce at the nearby farmers’ market. Thornton Dale (four miles away) also has two traditional pubs so you won't be short of choice when it comes to satisfying all tastes and tums.

Gold David Bellamy Conservation Award AA 5 pennants

Please note

Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

Single-sex bookings of 2 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Dogs are not allowed in the accommodation units.

The site caters for families (immediate members) and couples only - bookings from all other forms of groups are not accepted.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party: 2 adults

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.6

Overall rating based on 173 reviews

 

99% would recommend this site to a friend.

97% would stay here again.

 

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Will definitely return again..... fantastic site.!! 19/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Neil D. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful campsite...very friendly staff...very quite...good areas for the kids to play with others....highly recommend site.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Excellent site, friendly staff,clean facilities 18/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Claire F. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Peaceful site with excellent clean showers and toilets. Pitches good. 18/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Paul B. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great welcome on arrival. Toilet and shower facilities plentiful and clean. Nice site and not crowded.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Not great for tents, unruly kids. Nothing local 17/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Alice B. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The facilities in the caravan field were good

    Disliked: 

    We were in the middle of the tent field so it wasn't ideal to encourage my husband to like camping and to keep the dog calm on his first camping trip!

    There were too many ball games in the tent field and kids tapping on the tent! There were no boundaries, it just wasn't fun!
    Maybe some hedges like in the caravan field might be in order rather than 'pitch where you can'.

    Also, mid 2017 there seems to be nothing in walking distance. Even the local pub over a mile away is shut. We walked up to the main road and there wasn't even a path towards Thornton Le Dale. A car is definitely needed to get away

From the manager...

Hello,

Thank you for taking your time to leave us a review. We do find that most people prefer to choose their own space in the camping field so that they aren't pitched right next to other tents, during the school holidays we do have a lot of families with children using the site and playing ball games. If this problem was raised during your stay we would have been happy to address the issue.Unfortunately the Pub in the village is currently in the process of refurbishment so isn't open at this moment in time (we are looking forward to it re-opening soon). Unfortunately the footpaths in the local area are way beyond our control.

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Amazing place, easy access to nearby towns and attractiond 16/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Joanna C. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Such a pretty site, immaculately clean and great facilities. You are not pitched on top of each other and there's plenty space in the camping field for a game of rounders! Definitely recommend for anyone wanting to visit flamingo land without the big prices, took us 15 mins to drive there! Just great!!

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Hello,

Thank you for taking your time to leave us a review. It's lovely to hear that you had a great stay with us and liked the site. We are a great base for attractions such as Flamingo Land, Dalby Forest and the Coast so we are glad that you have been able to make use of this. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Thank you

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Excellent site, I would not hesitate to revisit. 12/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Paul R. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The cleanliness and maintenance of the site was excellent. Washing up, shower and toilet facilities were high quality and spotless. Site staff were friendly and helpful. The site was in a lovely picturesque location. We used the site mainly as a base but the kids were happy to spend time on site, on the field or the playground.

    Disliked: 

    Maybe a gravel loop around the tent field would help in wet weather, but minor issue. The WiFi did not reach the tent pitches.

From the manager...

Hello,
Thank you for taking your time to review our site. Here at the Vale of Pickering we like to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are also happy that you liked the facilities we have to offer and the location in which we are based.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! .... Hopefully in some drier weather!

Thank You

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Excellent site clean facilities reception staff very helpful 08/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Amy S. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Excellent location , very clean wash facilities and toilets in good location to renting site. Kids loved the playground.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Hello,

Thank you for taking your time to leave us a review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay on our site and the surrounding area. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank You

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Made our first camping trip memorable! 08/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom louise_s480171 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Poppy bell tent (2 adults and 2 children, no pets)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Facilities were fantastic and the bell tent we hired was very well equipped.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Hello,

We are glad that your first glamping trip was a success and that you enjoyed your stay in our new Poppy Bell Tent. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Thank You

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

One of the best sites north 08/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom DAVID F. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Brilliant quite site

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Hello,

Thank you for taking your time to leave a review about our site. We are glad that you have enjoyed your time staying on our site.

Thank you

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Excellent facilities, , clean 08/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom craig c. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    All brilliant site,,can't fault it

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Hello,
Thank you for taking your time to review our site. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank You

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Local produce

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

Hard standings

Motorhome service point

Seasonal pitches

Tourer storage facilities

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Luxury

Peaceful

Spectacular scenery

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Outdoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Farm

Large (51-200 pitches)

Camping 2.0

Bell tents

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Carr House Farm, Allerston Pickering, North Yorkshire, England, YO18 7PQ
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 54.2182°N 0.6488°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Thornton le Dale (N Yorks): Bus Stop — 3.2 miles
Pickering: Eastgate Coach Stop — 5.4 miles
Sherburn (N Yorks): Bus Stop — 5.4 miles
Train stations
Malton Rail Station — 8.5 miles
Seamer Rail Station — 9.5 miles
Scarborough Rail Station — 10.7 miles
Ferry ports
Transporter Bridge South Side — 34.4 miles
Airports
Durham Tees Valley Airport — 37.6 miles

Directions


From Pickering take the A170 towards Scarborough.

Drive approximately 5.5 miles and when you reach Allerston take a right turn onto the B1415 opposite the Cayley Arms pub.

Follow the road down for 1.25 miles until you reach the park entrance.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Trainspotters and sightseers alike will be chuff-chuffed at the North Yorkshire Moors Railway to take visitors on a steam-rollering 18 miles through the moors, with rural villages along the route - Goathlands was used as Hogsmeade in the first Harry Potter film and as Aidensfield in ITV’s Heartbeat - and with plenty of opportunities to hop off and go hiking o’er the moors.

The North York National Park has walking and cycling routes galore, with other sporty options near the Vale of Pickering taking in tennis, golf, horse-riding, sailing, mountain biking, fishing and watersports at Wykeham Lakes, or cantering at Snainton Riding Centre.

Savvy shoppers should sally to the nearby market towns of Pickering and Malton, or head towards York to spend the day at the Monks Cross Shopping Centre two miles from the city centre. And once the wallet is somewhat lighter, other recommended and less expensive days out in the area include taking in the World War II museum at Eden Camp, seeing the historic buildings at the Ryedale Folk Museum, or going to one of the many events at the Baroque mansion Castle Howard.

A visit to this neck of the woods wouldn’t be complete without a day at the seaside – visitors can stroll on the sands at fantastic Whitby, flit around Filey, browse through Bridlington or spend days at the country’s first ever seaside resort of Scarborough with its Italian gardens, miniature steam railway, casino, clifftop castle and kid-clamouring for seaside amusements.

Kids will also love the nearby theme park and zoo Flamingo Land, making like a monkey on the zip wires at Go Ape! or getting grisly at the York Dungeons after the big folk take in the architecture of York Minster and the history of the Jorvik Centre.

Must see

  • Dalby Forest Visitor Centre (4.2 miles)
  • North Yorkshire Moors Railway (5.6 miles)
  • Flamingo Land Theme Park and Zoo (6.5 miles)

National Trust

  • Bridestones, Crosscliff and Blakey Topping (5.8 miles)
  • Nunnington Hall (13.2 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  12:30 p.m. –  7 p.m.
Depart:  11:30 a.m.
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  1:30 p.m. –  8 p.m.
Depart:  11 a.m.

Late arrivals must notify the site as soon as possible.

Vale Of Pickering Caravan Park cancellation policy

No refunds within 6 weeks of arrival date.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

Group bookings of 2 or more units (e.g. tent, touring caravan, motorhome or accommodation hire) travelling together are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Bookings cannot be amended within 14 day(s) of arrival.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Cash
Maestro
MasterCard
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Vale Of Pickering Caravan Park


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

Changes to your holiday
Bookings cannot be amended within 14 day(s) of arrival.

Dogs
Dogs are not allowed in the accommodation units.
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.
Guide dogs are allowed on site free of charge.

General
Generators, washing lines, electric/motorised scooters other than for the disabled are not permitted.
Quiet hours must be respected between 11 p.m. and 8 a.m..
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and boots must be closed quietly.
The grocery shop is open between 06/03 and 31/10.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Hired accommodation
Your unit must be left clean and tidy, a fine of £25.00 will be charged for unclean units upon departure.

Occupancy
Group bookings of 2 or more units (e.g. tent, touring caravan, motorhome or accommodation hire) travelling together are not permitted via Pitchup.com.
No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.
Single-sex bookings of 2 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.
The site caters for families (immediate members) and couples only - bookings from all other forms of groups are not accepted.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.
Firearms are not permitted.
Open fires are prohibited.

Vehicles
Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.
Only one car is to be parked by the pitch. Extra vehicles must be parked in the designated area.

Visitors
Visitors must leave the premises by 10 p.m..
Visitors must register at reception and pay their fee.

Additional terms

Warden is on site and can be found in the static caravan, please do not disturb between 8pm and 8am unless it is an emergency.

Security barrier locked at 11.30pm and re-opens at 6.30am.

Close