Book and review 8,639 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Bobby Shafto Caravan Park

7.5
More info & book
From £23/€25.74/A$37.79/US$29.96/CA$37.51/CHF28.56/kr246.78/kr192.15/kr239.09/kr3,194/$528.74/$19,167/PEN97.54/NZ$40.39/R392.49/zł110.05/R$95.16/Kč670.55/RSD3,108 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

General

  • Secluded location with countryside views
  • A mile from the C2C cycle route
  • Bar, shop, gated access and CCTV

Have a bumptious time in Beamish at Bobby Shafto Caravan Park, set deep in peaceful Co Durham countryside but only a few miles from many topping Durham and Northumberland attractions. Bring your bike too: the park is only a mile from the C2C cycle route.

Bobby Shafto is family run, by a team with years of experience in sorting out what all sorts of customers might want and in helping them have a peaceful time in the Durham countryside. Many a feature assists in this, like a licensed bar, gated access and exit via personalised swipe cards, CCTV to keep everyone feeling safe, and a shop and reception area selling caravan accessories, camping gas, ice cream, sweets and groceries.

The site's amenities building is centrally heated, with coin-operated showers alongside hairdryers, hand dryers and shaving points. Other facilities include a dishwashing and veg prep area, a chemical disposal point, water points and a launderette with washing machine, tumble dryer and iron.

Disabled access is available for loos, showers, the bar, the play area and other facilities.

Please note

Dogs are not allowed in the accommodation units.

Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Twin axle vehicles are not permitted on site.

The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act.

No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

A charge of 25p applies for the use of shower.

Single-sex bookings of 3 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act and/or any of the following: Staffordshire bull terrier, American Staffordshire terrier, Rottweiler, any Mastiff or Tosa.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party: 2 adults

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

7.5

Overall rating based on 66 reviews

 

73% would recommend this site to a friend.

73% would stay here again.

 
  • 10 28%
  • 9 7%
  • 8 22%
  • 7 13%
  • 6 10%
  • 5 0%
  • 4 10%
  • 3 1%
  • 2 1%
  • 1 3%

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Would stay here again. Friendly site. 25/07/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Penny B. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Liked this site due to facilities. Shower.. very clean.. has plenty of hanging space to keep ur clothes dry and off the floor... Yes u have to buy tokens for the shower but it's only 25p for 6 mins that was plenty of time to wash and wash and condition my hair. Water lovely temp not too hot but perfect best thing iv spent 25p on. Can't comment on the club house as didn't go as we don't have little ones to entertain. Very helpfully staff helped with taxi to beamish also 20% voucher.
    The lock the play tight rope of a night which was great as not alot of noise after that.
    Yes this site is in the middle of nowhere and very hilly but it's a holiday and a break so no bother.

    Disliked: 

    My dislike of this site. Are .... so I paid for a elec hard stand with gazebo. The space left for gazebo after the van was parked up wasn't alot and was up level to grass from stones. So gazebo a bit uneven thats with dropping legs down on one side. I.e half hard ground half grass so not alot of space for chair on hard or grass which resulted in me not coming home with it cause the wind got it and mangled it.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

That the camp site was clearly marked for where you ... 24/07/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Cheryl L. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass touring caravan, trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    That the camp site was clearly marked for where you had to put your tent. And that there was toilets close by.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Expensive for facilities provided 21/07/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Sharon H. Confirmed

  • Fully-serviced gravel touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Clean and tidy site. Rural setting with lovely views.

    Disliked: 

    Expensive for facilities provided.Though advertised only a mile from Beamish this access was up a very steep lane with no public transport. The pitches were tight to access with vehicle. Children run all over the pitches and someone was kicking a ball about at 10.00 at night. Staff friendly when met but no one enquired if we were happy with our pitch or made any enquiry at all as to our satisfaction with the site.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Good site better if child entertainment. 18/07/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom John W. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass touring caravan, trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Good to have a shop on site. Toilets were clean good site in general.

    Disliked: 

    More of a pub then clubhouse nothing much for kids to do except go to the park.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Overpriced site, very handy for Beamish Museum. 12/07/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Steve V. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Proximity to Beamish Museum

    Disliked: 

    The site have placed brown tourist signs on the approach roads directing cars with caravans to the site...... The same roads the local council have put signs up starting they are unsuitable for caravans!!! BEWARE!! They are unsuitable for caravans. A four mile or so detour appears to be the only reasonable easy way in.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Great little site with great facilities and a friendly atmosphere. 12/07/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Leanne F. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass touring caravan, trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great facilities
    Very helpful staff
    Nice Club room atmosphere
    Friendly

    Disliked: 

    The rain on the Friday when we arrived hahaha other than that great little site.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Nice site shame about the general comments above 08/07/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Martin W. Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location for Beamish museum. Friendly staff.

    Disliked: 

    Cost was a little. Charge for showers and the fact that coins supplied for these half did not work. Shop was poorly stocked (there is not a shop near). Tight spaces for turning vehicles.

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Pros and cons to this site 07/07/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Steven C. Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nearby walks by river and in the woods.
    Close proximity of Beamish Museum.
    Friendly efficient staff.

    Disliked: 

    Noise from other campers until 1am in the morning
    Lack of signage for rubbish resulting in other campers putting rubbish down the chemical disposal.
    Paying 25p to use the shower.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Good site, clean facilities, pitch was slightly uneven but acceptable 20/06/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Jordan N. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass touring caravan, trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Spacious pitch, friendly staff, on-site club was good, very close to Beamish Museum.

    Disliked: 

    Loud neighbouring tent and children running around other people's pitches. Couldn't buy shower tokens after 6pm as shop was closed. Also had to pay for WiFi ubless you wanted a 24 hour 100mb cap.

From the manager...

Hello - many thanks for your positive comments much appreciated - just to give some info to hopefully address your dislikes - our shop is open from 9am till 6pm (9am till 8pm on a Friday) - we also keep a supply of shower tokens in our on site bar which is open 7.30pm till 11pm over the weekend (8pm till 11pm weekday evenings) - our wifi is free to use for the first hour and then our customers are charged £2.50 for any further time online in that 24 hour period - our provider donates all monies from this to charity - the park does not profit from this - we hope that overall you enjoyed your stay here with us and that we see you again sometime!

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Too expensive, access road very steep 18/06/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Margaret E. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Was visiting family in Stanley so was convenient.

    Disliked: 

    Too expensive, toilet and shower block was dated, to be fair was clean. Portable toilets closed 8am in the morning, main block too far away. Several people complained, but not interested. Walked round bottom end by rally field looked like a gypsy site with pallets and awning lying in front of a caravan and a 3 seater settee by the hedge.

From the manager...

Hello - thanks for your comments - unfortunately, we can only have the portable toilets open for everyone's convenience through the night as we have experienced unsupervised children entering them through the day to 'play' and leaving them in an unacceptable condition and we don't have the resources to constantly check them throughout the day - thanks for alerting us to the furniture and awning situation - the caravan with the awning down is actually leaving the site this week so they have dismantled it ready to go - we have contacted the customer this morning who has left the sofa next to their pitch and asked them to come in today and remove it as it is completely unacceptable and breaches our holiday park rules - we can only apologise for your disappointing stay with us.

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

Drainage hook-up points for tourers

Fully serviced pitches

Hard standings

Seasonal pitches

Water hook-up points for tourers

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Peaceful

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Outdoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Large (51-200 pitches)

Camping 2.0

Camping pods

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Cranberry Plantation Beamish, Co. Durham, England, DH9 0RY
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 54.8837°N 1.6418°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Chester-le-Street: South Burns Coach Stop — 3.2 miles
Washington (Tyne & Wear): Galleries Bus Station — 4.4 miles
Gateshead: Metro Interchange Coach Stop — 5.6 miles
Train stations
Chester-le-Street Rail Station — 3.2 miles
Dunston Rail Station — 4.6 miles
Metrocentre Rail Station — 5.3 miles
Ferry ports
Newcastle International Ferry Terminal — 10.7 miles
South Shields Ferry Terminal — 11.2 miles
North Shields Ferry Terminal — 11.4 miles
Airports
Newcastle International Airport — 11.0 miles
Durham Tees Valley Airport — 27.1 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Bobby Shafto Caravan Park's setting in Beamish has it surrounded by small country pubs and up to date restaurants to sort out all guests' tipples and teas whatever their budget. Horse riding, fishing and cycling are available nearby and the C2C cycle path is a mile away.

Beamish is a comely little town, well known for its North of England Open Air Museum, which does exactly what it says on the tin in its aim of preserving the industrial history of England's north east in the twentieth century. (It's a lot more thrilling than it sounds, and has won plentiful awards: we thoroughly recommend a trip.)

Also get to Durham for the day, home of one of the country's most splendid cathedrals, and to Newcastle and Sunderland, all within easy driving distance.

Going east, sand fans can investigate the coastal town of South Shields, former home of saga storyteller Catherine Cookson and one of the most popular seaside resorts on this part of coast. Have a look at the museum and art gallery, the South Shields lighthouses, the reconstructed Roman fort and excavations at Arbeia, and the rather ornate town hall.

Must see

  • The Angel of the North (3.0 miles)
  • Gibside (4.4 miles)
  • The Sage Gateshead (6.0 miles)

National Trust

  • Gibside (4.4 miles)
  • Washington Old Hall (5.1 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  11 a.m. –  8 p.m.
Depart:  11 a.m.
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  2:30 p.m. –  8 p.m.
Depart:  11 a.m.

Bobby Shafto Caravan Park cancellation policy

No refunds within 10 days of arrival date.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Pitches: a £20 deposit is required on arrival and will be refunded on departure when returning the gate badge/barrier pass/toilet keys.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Cash
Maestro
MasterCard
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Bobby Shafto Caravan Park


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.
All guests spending the night at the park must present their ID at the reception desk and sign registration forms.
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Dogs
Dogs are not allowed in the accommodation units.
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.
Guide dogs are allowed on site free of charge.
The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act and/or any of the following: Staffordshire bull terrier, American Staffordshire terrier, Rottweiler, any Mastiff or Tosa.
The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act.

Extras
A charge of 25p applies for the use of shower.
Motorbike(s) can be brought instead of the car(s) included.

General
Bookings are nominative and non-transferable.
Entertainment and activities are available between 01/03 and 31/10.
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and boots must be closed quietly.
The grocery shop is open between 01/03 and 31/10.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Hired accommodation
Your unit must be left clean and tidy, a fine of £50 will be charged for unclean units upon departure.

Occupancy
No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.
Single-sex bookings of 3 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Pitches
Pitches: a £20 deposit is required on arrival and will be refunded on departure when returning the gate badge/barrier pass/toilet keys.
You must follow the management directives when pitching your tent/unit and related equipment.

Reception
Reception is open from 9am to 6pm (8pm on Fridays) between 01/03 and 31/10.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.
Open fires are prohibited.

Vehicles
Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.
Twin axle vehicles are not permitted on site.

Visitors
Visitors must register at reception and pay their fee.

Close