Book and review 8,643 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Whitlingham Broad Campsite

8.7
More info & book
From £17/€19.02/A$27.89/US$22.23/CA$27.89/CHF21.45/kr182.99/kr142.02/kr176.72/kr2,329/$396.27/$14,167/PEN72.19/NZ$29.63/R289.12/zł80.99/R$70.16/Kč495.63/RSD2,297 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

General

  • Norfolk Broads site in 80 acres of country park
  • Watersports centre less than five minutes’ walk away
  • Shop, bike storage and café next door

Say Pah to the passport, avoid the airport and don’t go a-broad for a holiday overflowing with activities and attractions – go to the Norfolk Broads instead.

You’ll find a wide range of all-weather things to do around Whitlingham Broad Campsite once you’re there: the Broads are in its back garden with a watersports centre less than five minutes’ saunter from your pitch; the city of Norwich is an easy 15 minutes by bike or bus, and the site is in 80 acres of country park with masses of room for kids to run around and with a network of walks stretching directly from it.

All the site is grass, but the country park landscape also takes in rivers, water meadows blooming with wildflowers, and wildlife-laden woodland with trees young and old. Sturdy (not disposable) barbecues are allowed on all pitches, or some firepits are available to hire from the Whitlingham team.

Just steps away from the accommodation fields are the three large lakes of the Great, Little and Conservation Broads: take a canoe out here or fish, picnic and wildlife watch from the banks. The Outdoor Education Centre a few minutes’ walk away has kayak and dragonboat hire and sailing and surfing courses as well as landlubber activities like archery and rock climbing.

Family washrooms are available at Whitlingham Broad for guests and other amenities include an onsite shop and cycle storage. A café is right next door, but local companies will deliver to your pitch if you fancy a takeaway for dinner: ask the team for their broad list of recommendations…

Please note

Single-sex bookings of 3 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Group bookings of 6 or more adults are not permitted (couples and immediate family members excepted).

Group bookings of people under 16 are not accepted through Pitchup.com.

Campfires are allowed, in raised controlled firepits (which are also available for hire on site on arrival). Sturdy barbecues are also allowed, but not disposables.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party: 2 adults

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

8.7

Overall rating based on 18 reviews

 

89% would recommend this site to a friend.

89% would stay here again.

 
  • 10 50%
  • 9 11%
  • 8 22%
  • 7 5%
  • 6 5%
  • 5 0%
  • 4 0%
  • 3 5%
  • 2 0%
  • 1 0%

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters

Perfect family friendly site 😊⛺️ 27/07/2017

kate_a235047 Mobile phone icon

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything!!
    We have just spent a few days here.
    Staff were friendly and helpful. Site was relaxed and very family orientated. Lovely shop with any emergency item you might need. Even games to borrow for rainy days! Proper nice toilets and showers. Two family bathrooms and really clean washing up facilities. Our fave campsite to date!

    Disliked: 

    Can't think of anything!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Lovely, laid back, family-friendly / lone female friendly site 25/07/2017

aline_f

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    I've stayed at this campsite both with friends and by myself (as a lone female) and both times I felt very safe. The campsite has a lovely (family) atmosphere, and the staff are really welcoming. Both times I stayed, I was travelling by bicycle (cycling National Cycle Route 1) and didn't book ahead - there was space to pitch, so I was allowed to stay! The laid-back nature of the site appeals to me very much! The facilities are clean and the site is close to a small village where you can easily pick up supplies (the corner shop there is open on a Sunday - very convenient!). Fire pits are available for hire. I'd definitely stay again (and probably will, as I love cycling in Norfolk!). 5 stars; this site is excellent! :)

    Disliked: 

    ...nothing to dislike!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Excellent site with good facilities and level good sized pitches, 16/07/2017

lilian_a Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful, clean site with nice facilities. Really friendly people and a relaxed feel. We had our four dogs with us and they were welcomed. The choice of upper or lower fields is left to your own decision. The small shop has many useful items and the option of hiring a fire pit is good. Wood, charcoal and anything else needed is stocked. The area surrounding the site is beautiful, lots of lovely walks and so close to Norwich if you want to explore the beautiful city. We will certainly be returning to this lovely site.

    Disliked: 

    Leaving!!

Overall
10
Location
(No rating)
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

A locally sure with clean facilities. Helpful and friendly staff. 29/06/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom marie_w158742 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Toilet and showers lovely and clean.
    Staff friendly and helpful.
    Choice of camping areas.
    Fire pits avalible to hire....

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Good location, clean facilities, not enough hot water 07/06/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Richard S. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location is good, as there are plenty of shops for supplies a short drive away. the site is right next to a lake where watersport activities are available for a reasonable price. The facilities were clean and relatively new.

    Disliked: 

    No designated pitches, so the tents were all over the place, which meant that if the site was busy, you had no idea how much space you'd have. Hot water was rare and on a first come-first serve basis for showers and for washing-up - most of this had to be done with cold water. Ban on paddling pools for children was not good.

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to review us

We are glad you enjoyed your stay on site. We purposly dont mark out pitches to allow freedom of pitching with your friends in circle etc if required this has worked well on site for many years and staff are always on hand, either in reception or via intercom to advise on spacing etc should you require - even on the busiest of Bank Holiday weekends there is always plenty of space to pitch and for children to play. We do not have a 'ban' on paddling pools but advise that these not be used for various reasons - we are in a country park and have a limited water supply and we deem these to be a waste of water - also when finished with the paddling pool, emptying in onto yours or someone elses pitch can cause a boggy mess. Information on our very relaxed site rules are availiable to view before placing a booking.

It does seem that we have some more work to do with our brand new boilers system - a team of plumbers are now working on this to get the correct settings as the system does/or should supply constant hot water. We were not aware while you were n site that this had failed, however it can be easily rectified by the touch of a button so please do chat to us in future if you find a problem. I apologise that you experienced issue with this during your stay

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Quiet and picturesque site. Well maintained with clean facilities 16/05/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom tom_e111337 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Facilities, quiet location

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to review us - we hope to see you on site again someday soon

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Fantastic, would stay again 13/04/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom kirsty_t164260 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    - quietness
    - spacious
    - able to pick where you want to put tent up
    - lots of activities to do around the area

    Disliked: 

    - showers weren't very warm!
    - quite small area
    - better if the reception area sold breakfast things to cook such as eggs bacon etc! No shop near by apart from a busy cafe

From the manager...

Thank you for your review We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

The showers are a constant hot water - thank you for your feedback -we have now turned these up a few degrees, Staff are always on hand at reception or via intercome so these issues can be easily rectified while you are onsite.

Local fresh produce including Sausages, Bacon, eggs and fruit are availible in our Small campsite shop From Easter Weekend - until mid September - Unfortunatly it is not viable for us to stock fresh produce outside of these times, so it is unfortuntate that your stay was just outside of these dates - The Local village shop however sells similar and is under a mile away, I apologise if you were not given this infomation upon check in- directions are displayed in our reception, and the shop is located at the end of the country park road

We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you enjoying the site again sometime soon

Kind regards

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Great site with very good facilities, in a lovely location. 13/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom tom c. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    I really enjoyed my stay at Whitlingham Broad Campsite. I enjoyed exploring the wonderful country park that the site is located in. The Staff were helpful and welcoming. I liked the option of pitching in a car free field and the environmentally friendly ethos of the site. I will defiantly stay here again and recommend this site to friends.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thanks for taking the time to review us - we look forward to seeing you onsite again sometime soon

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Lovely campsite in a great location, quiet and peaceful. 08/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Claire A. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Fab location, great new toilet and shower block. Great value for money. We have stayed 4 years running and will certainly stay again.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing to dislike, we have stayed in a shepards hut in the past but felt the fee was quite high. We now camp and love it.

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to review us - we are glad you keep returning to stay with us

Our Shepherds huts are the lowest priced in the Broads, but we understand that this is a step up from the camping fee, Either way a night under the stars is priceless!

We look forward to seeing you onsite again sometime soon

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

£60 for 2 days is just not worth it 27/08/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Charlene P. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nice showers

    Disliked: 

    Poor check in times . Can't check in till 2pm which is unfair as by the time you put your tent up and settle in that's the day gone . Also u have to leave by 11 so that's enough day wasted .

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

It is a shame that you were unhappy with the check in times as these are clearly availiable to view before deciding to book, we are busy campsite and for the comfort of everyone we have these times as we do not allow to many people onto the site so we can retain a relaxed atmosphere. As we are located in the Country Park there is a full 80 acres of greenspace to explore before you come to site, or after you leave - no day at Whitlingham need be wasted. Early check in and late check out are also availiable with prebooking - information on this is sent to you in your original information - It is a shame that you did not take advantage of this.

If you would like to discuss any other information about your stay please do not hesitate to contact us

Thansk again for your review

Overall
3
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Tents for hire

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Budget/backpacker

Forest

Gastronomic delight

Lake and/or mountain

Leave the car at home

Luxury

Peaceful

Spectacular scenery

Walkers' paradise

Wildlife haven

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Climbing nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Outdoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Medium (26-50 pitches)

Camping 2.0

Bell tents

Jumbo tent pitches

Pre-erected tents

Shepherd's huts

Tipis, yurts, or wigwams

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Whitlingham Lane, Trowse Norwich, Norfolk, England, NR14 8TR
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 52.6194°N 1.3262°E

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Norwich Bus Station — 1.4 miles
Eaton (Norwich): Newmarket Road Coach Stop — 2.1 miles
Norwich: University of East Anglia Coach Stop — 3.8 miles
Train stations
Norwich Rail Station — 1.0 miles
Brundall Gardens Rail Station — 3.9 miles
Salhouse Rail Station — 4.8 miles
Ferry ports
Reedham Ferry North — 10.3 miles
Reedham Ferry South — 10.4 miles
Southwold Ferry Landing — 25.4 miles
Airports
Norwich International Airport — 4.0 miles

Directions


By bike
Just use National Cycle Route 1 – this will drop you right into the country park.

By train
Norwich train station is approximately 35 minutes' walk/2.5 miles away – with excellent links to all over the UK. Book a ticket in advance and you can travel from London for as little as £8.

By car
Just follow the signs to Whitlingham Country Park or use your satnav. Please check that your satnav is bringing you in to Norwich via the A146 or you may end up on the wrong side of the river! (NR14 8TR will deliver you to the Flint Barn visitor centre, directly opposite the campsite.)

By bus
The nearest bus stop is approximately 15 minutes' walk away – and Norwich's bus/coach station just under 3 miles.

By foot
Wander down the Wherryman's Way which snakes right through the country park.

By piggyback
We really hope someone in your group has been eating their porridge!

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Sticking to the Broads – just at first – you’ll have the pick of waterside walks, watersports, cycling and wildlife spotting on the Whitlingham Broad doorstep.

The café next to the campsite has a visitor centre with interactive info on the Broads to help you narrow things down a bit, and you can also catch the river boat here into Norwich city centre. For something a little more unusual, a ski club is a smooth ten minutes away.

Walks with a view are all around the site and within easy dandering distance: kids might like to monkey around on the child-friendly low ropes course through the nearby woods, in a spot where there’s also a play pirate ship to batten down the hatches at and an old lime kiln to have a peek at (be careful not to disturb the bats that roost there).

The Wherryman’s Way path along the Yare in the Yare Valley is also a Wherry good walk (and ends at a Wherry good pub); the 12 circular walks along its route are handy for those who don’t fancy following it all the 35 miles to Great Yarmouth.

Bring your bike if poss: apart from the accessible Broads by Bike trails, Whitlingham Broad Campsite is on the Norwich – Lincoln section of National Cycle Route 1, taking in Fakenham, King’s Lynn, Wisbeach, Holbeach and Boston.

From King’s Lynn, the Norfolk Coastal Cycleway winds towards the sea to Great Yarmouth via Cromer, Hunstanton and Wells-next-the-Sea. (If not bringing your own wheels, the Broads have several bike hire shops, including one near Whitlingham Broad.)

Bike or boat into Norwich city centre for a couple of days’ worth of attractions young and old such as shopping in The Lanes (Norwich is one of the top ten shopping destinations in the UK, fashion fans), eyeing up the stupendous cathedral (with resident peregrine falcon) and Norman Norwich Castle, or browsing the covered market to pick up some fresh local produce to cook up back at base. Pubbing, clubbing, cinema, live music and award-winning restaurants are all here for the evenings too – ah ha.

Norwich train station, 35 minutes’ walk from Whitlingham Broad, has excellent links to the Norfolk coastline a half hour puff away. Visitors will always have great expectations met at Great Yarmouth, but another popular local attraction is the National Trust-managed Horsey Windpump a short distance away, with views over Horsey Mere and seals to spot on a coastal walk below.

Must see

  • Norwich Castle Museum and Art Gallery (1.4 miles)
  • Norwich Cathedral (1.4 miles)
  • Colman's Mustard Shop and Museum (1.5 miles)

National Trust

  • Blickling Hall, Gardens and Park (13.8 miles)
  • Horsey Windpump (15.8 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  8 p.m.
Depart:  11 a.m.
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  8 p.m.
Depart:  11 a.m.

Reception is closed between 11am - 2pm. Please do not arrive before check in at 2pm. There are parking restrictions on site - your parking charges are not covered by us until you have checked in.

Whitlingham Broad Campsite cancellation policy

No refunds within 2 weeks of arrival date.

- For any cancellations made more than 28 days before the date of arrival: 80% of the amount paid will be refunded
- For any cancellations made less than 28 days but more than 14 days before the date of arrival: 50% of the amount paid will be refunded

Group bookings of 2 or more units (e.g. tent, touring caravan, motorhome or accommodation hire) travelling together are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. Whitlingham Broad Campsite will debit the balance from your card 6 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 6 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Cash
Maestro
MasterCard
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Whitlingham Broad Campsite


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

General
Quiet hours must be respected between 12 a.m. and 12 a.m..

Occupancy
Group bookings of 2 or more units (e.g. tent, touring caravan, motorhome or accommodation hire) travelling together are not permitted via Pitchup.com.
Group bookings of 6 or more adults are not permitted (couples and immediate family members excepted).
Single-sex bookings of 3 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Vehicles
Only one car is to be parked by the pitch. Extra vehicles must be parked in the designated area.

Visitors
Visitors must register at reception and pay their fee.

Additional terms

Group bookings of people under 16 are not accepted through Pitchup.com.

This is a chilled out, relaxed site, not a party site.

Campfires are allowed, in raised controlled firepits (which are also available for hire on site on arrival). Sturdy barbecues are also allowed, but not disposables. Firepit hire availiable on site.

Awning, gazebo and pup tent must fit within the allocated pitch.

Our car park is shared and also operates a pay and display scheme.

Close