Book and review 8,950 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Duke Of York

9.4
View prices & book
From £25/€28.27/A$44.36/US$35.07/CA$44.04/CHF32.53/kr279.49/kr210.51/kr272.90/kr3,522/$693.18/$20,811/PEN114/NZ$47.44/R407.77/zł117.50/R$113.29/Kč716.42/RSD3,341/Ft8,798.01/₽1,978.30/CN¥222.56 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

General

  • Next to a pub/restaurant five miles from Buxton and 12 from Ashbourne
  • Easy access to the Tissington and High Peak trails
  • Modern amenities block with underfloor heating

The Duke of York is on the A515, adjacent to the Duke of York pub and restaurant, six miles from Buxton and Bakewell, and 12 from Ashbourne, The site is a convenient base for the Peak District, and there's easy access to the Tissington and High Peak trails. Pitches all have spectacular views over the Peak District and beyond.

The modern amenities block comes with pot-washing facilities, toilets and free hot showers. Underfloor heating is also provided.

The site is popular in all seasons with families, couples, singles and groups who want to get away, but with the comfort of a pub and restaurant on the doorstep. (When making your booking, please remember to make a reservation in the restaurant using the 'Special Requests' section in your booking form, as the restaurant gets very busy during peak times.)

Families, walkers, cyclists, bikers and dogs are all most welcome... as long as each is well behaved.

Please note

Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Single-sex bookings of 6 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Group bookings of 6 or more adults are not permitted (couples and immediate family members excepted).

No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party: 2 adults

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.4

Overall rating based on 22 reviews

 

95% would recommend this site to a friend.

95% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Snow had been cleared from roadways and pitches. Toilet block ... 16/02/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Susan W. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding and grass touring caravan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Snow had been cleared from roadways and pitches. Toilet block was lovely and toastie even though the temperature outside was -3! Lovely meal in the pub, chips were the best ever! Great view of the wonderful High Peak scenery from the caravan - a winter wonderland.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for your lovely review and posting the fantastic photo :) - hope to see you again soon - perhaps a summer sunrise next time?

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Warm welcome, good information, lovely site 14/02/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom David J. Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding and grass touring caravan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Warm welcome, great pre arrival travel info as it was snowy, pitch and roadways had been cleared of snow, heat was on in spoltless toilet blocks, and water on pitches worked despite freezing conditions.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing to dislike, really nothing..

From the manager...

Thank you for your review - this years Winter weather has certainly kept our resident snow clearer aka "husband Gary" busy! A lovely photo - thank you for posting it.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Lovely small site with good facilities 13/02/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Helen M. Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding and grass touring caravan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Really well laid out site with gorgeous views. The facilities are nice, clean and warm which was important as it snowed while we were on site. Having a dog friendly pub on site was excellent and the landlord and landlady were very friendly.

    Disliked: 

    The road into Buxton is quite busy and you could hear the road noise from the site at times. It didn't bother us too much though. You do also have to cross the road or walk along it a bit to get to most of the local footpaths, it would be better if you could get out of the site at the back.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Everything spot on 06/02/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom richard_c948411 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding and grass touring caravan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything spot on

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Lovely friendly place made our very first trip a good ... 12/02/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom joanne_c338238 Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding and grass touring caravan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely friendly place made our very first trip a good one

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Excellent site 30/01/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom CARL G. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding and grass touring caravan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The pub, the pitch , the facilities, cleanliness

    Disliked: 

    The pub food wasn’t very good

From the manager...

Thank you for your review and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay on the Campsite. We are disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your food but even more so that you didn't bring it to our attention when you were asked if everything was OK both during your meal and before payment? If you had mentioned it at the time we would have had an opportunity to look at the problem and hopefully to put it right for you..........

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Pub food , very clean and warm toilet / shower ... 23/01/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Lesley A. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding and grass touring caravan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Pub food , very clean and warm toilet / shower block .good views .
    Staff very helpful.

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

A small friendly site but let down by the washing facilities 01/01/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Paul S. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding and grass touring caravan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Views

    Disliked: 

    Washing facilities
    The room was Quite cold the showers luke warm and the water coming out.of the taps was very slow
    We feel that these areas are very important to any stay especially when you have children with you and are always the 1st thing we rate a site by and because of this we would not look to stay here again pity as the views were lovely

From the manager...

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your comments. We are however confused by your feedback regarding the Shower/toilet block? We have spoken to a number of customers who stayed on the site with you that weekend - and some who have stayed since - and all have reported that they were very happy with the warm, clean facilities. The whole block is underfloor heated. The hot water from the showers/taps is set to a required temp by the plumbers/boiler service so as not to scald people - especially children. The water from the taps may seem slower than domestic ones - helps to reduce the amount of wasted water - but it isn't "very slow"?
We are sorry that you didn't bring these concerns to our attention during your visit. We would certainly have looked at it with you at the time and hopefully have been able to resolve/explain.
(We provide our telephone number and a request to let us know of any problems both verbally and on our Welcome sheet when you book in)

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Excellent site. Will visit again. 31/12/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Kevin D. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding and grass touring caravan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Friendly and helpful owners. Good pub on site with good pub food. Clean facilities. Spectacular views.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing to dislike.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Friendly, helpful staff and the pub is welcoming and cosy 30/12/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Mary M. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding and grass touring caravan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Not crowded. Warm welcome. Modern warm toilet blocks. Great views. Great location. Nice layout. Good facilities.

    Disliked: 

    Narrow hard standing pitches. Room for caravan and car next to it but that was a tight fit so you wouldn’t be able to have your car on pitch and an awning at the same time.

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are pleased to hear you have many positives and enjoyed your stay on the site . You mentioned the pitch size and awning? I notice from you photos that you chose to turn the caravan around - I'm sure for the benefit of the views which is fine and understandable. With regard to the awning we would expect that your caravan would be the other way around and then the awning is on the grass at the side- leaving space to park the car beside the caravan and still on the hardstanding.
Please Note: If anyone has any problems with this on their future arrival please let us know - at the time- and we can hopefully sort out another space for car parking if required.
Thank you again for the feedback.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

Hard standings

Water hook-up points for tourers

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Spectacular scenery

Walkers' paradise

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Climbing nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Medium (26-50 pitches)

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Ashbourne Road, Pomeroy, Buxton, Derbyshire, England, SK17 9QG
  • Timezone Europe/London GMT (GMT+00:00)   GPS 53.2045°N 1.8216°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Buxton: Market Place Coach Stop — 5.3 miles
Bakewell Coach Stop — 6.1 miles
Matlock Coach Stops — 11.9 miles
Train stations
Buxton Rail Station — 5.4 miles
Dove Holes Rail Station — 7.2 miles
Chapel-en-le-Frith Rail Station — 8.5 miles
Ferry ports
Liverpool Pier Head Ferry Terminal — 50.6 miles
Airports
Manchester Airport Terminal 3 — 21.5 miles
Manchester Airport — 21.6 miles
Manchester Airport Terminal 1 — 21.7 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Footpaths direct from the site lead to the Limestone Way, the High Peak and Tissington trails, and the Midshires Way. There are also cycle hire points nearby for families and individuals, the closest on the High Peak Trail at Parsley Hay, five minutes away by car.

There's a bus stop at the site; however, the service has now been reduced to one bus per day to Buxton and Ashbourne. Timetables are available in the pub.

Must see

  • Haddon Hall (6.7 miles)
  • Chatsworth (8.5 miles)
  • Sir Richard Arkwright's Masson Mills (12.5 miles)

National Trust

  • Winster Market House (8.7 miles)
  • Lyme Park (14.1 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  12 p.m. –  9:30 p.m.
Depart:  11:30 a.m.

Please check in at the pub reception upon arrival.

Duke Of York cancellation policy

No refunds within 3 weeks of arrival date.

Should you wish to cancel your reservation more than 21 days prior to your arrival, an administration fee of £15 will be applied.

Bookings cannot be amended within 2 day(s) of arrival.

Group bookings of 2 or more units (e.g. tent, touring caravan, motorhome or accommodation hire) travelling together are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. Duke Of York will debit the balance from your card 4 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 4 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

American Express
Maestro
MasterCard
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Duke Of York


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Changes to your holiday
Bookings cannot be amended within 2 day(s) of arrival.

Dogs
Dogs are prohibited from main facilities and amenities.
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.
Guide dogs are allowed on site free of charge.
The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act.

General
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.
Quiet hours must be respected between 10:30 a.m. and 7:30 a.m..
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and boots must be closed quietly.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Occupancy
Group bookings of 2 or more units (e.g. tent, touring caravan, motorhome or accommodation hire) travelling together are not permitted via Pitchup.com.
Group bookings of 6 or more adults are not permitted (couples and immediate family members excepted).
No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.
Single-sex bookings of 6 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Pitches
You must follow the management directives when pitching your tent/unit and related equipment.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.
Firearms are not permitted.
Open fires are prohibited.

Vehicles
Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.
No vehicle movement between 12 a.m. and 6 a.m..

Visitors
Visitors must register at reception and pay their fee.
Visitors’ cars are not permitted on site.

Close