Book and review 8,823 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Callow Top Holiday Park

8.6

This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
Find nearby sites with availability…

If you are the owner of this site, start taking bookings through Pitchup.com by adding your business details.

General

  • Top-notch location in prime Derbyshire territory
  • Big range of on-site activities that's sure to tickle the kids pink
  • Find traditional pub grub, kids' meals and home brew at the Callow Inn

Callow Top Holiday Park has received lots of awards, and it’s easy to see why: the location is great, and the list of facilities endless.

There’s an on-site supermarket selling all the essentials, plus some carefully considered products such as camper-friendly barbeque packs (without any gastronomical prices). From May to September, visitors can callow-n around in the heated outdoor swimming pool and paddling pools. There’s an amusement arcade, well-designed children’s playgrounds and a games field with football and cricket pitches, plus a volleyball court. You can hire bikes, bait your hook at the fishing lake or do some twitching in the bird hide. In season, you won’t need to go far for entertainment, with outdoor family discos, live bands, quiz nights and bingo all laid on. The cherry on the lager top is the place’s own micro-brewery, which concocts tasty real ales under its ‘Bad Ram’ brand name.

Tummywise, the Callow Inn, a former drovers’ inn on site, serves trad pub grub and children’s meals as well as the aforementioned home brew. There’s also a café bar with pool tables and satellite TV. Venture just a little further and you’ll find loads of eateries in the pleasant market town of Ashbourne, including some that will deliver takeaway to the site.

Callow Top offers a mixture of non-serviced grass pitches for tents, plus hardstandings with electricity for campervans, caravans and trailer tents.

Dogs are welcome on site, but must be kept on leads at all times. Regretfully, dogs are not allowed in the Callow Inn, Arnold’s Café Bar, Callow Top shop, swimming pool area or fishing lake/nature reserve.

Gold David Bellamy Conservation Award

Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

8.6

Overall rating based on 213 reviews

 

89% would recommend this site to a friend.

86% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters

N/A 13/08/2017

keeleypowles

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    N/A

    Disliked: 

    Very Very Poor, phoned the site just a few days ago to book a 2 night touring pitch and paid by £20 deposit. then within the hour realisation hit that I'd told them the wrong date, due to my 16 month old baby turning the page in my diary as I was on the phone to them, and was meant to book a few weeks before. Called up straight away to be met by nothing more than hostility and a flat refusel to move by booking, even after confirming they had availability on the dates I was meant to book. I as good as pleaded with them, as I was to be camping on my own with a baby and needed a well established site to have the facilities and the security. But no, flatly refused to help me or assist in any way, I know they have a non-returnable deposit policy, but come on !!! I phoned back immediately after realising my mistake and within an hour of booking? It was clearly obvious that I'd made a genuine mistake. They were nothing short of rude on the phone and the male who originally took the booking as good as accused me of being a liar and making it all up for some reason?
    so now no holiday and £20 down, no other suitable sites available. plus cant really afford now after losing the original £20.
    A real shame as we were so looking forward to going for the first time.
    This is not a family orientated resort, they are nothing short of greedy opportunists.
    Will never book or stay at Callow Top !!!!

Overall
2
Location
(No rating)
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Not for us.. 07/08/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Annette V. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The site is in a beautiful location.
    Staff very friendly.

    Disliked: 

    We should of stayed 3 nights, however we only stayed 1 night.
    Nice enough place, however needs more showers and facilities and a larger pool for the amount of people that stay there, including dryers. My 6 year old son would not play on the playground as children playing on there were unsupervised, swearing and fighting.
    People letting their dogs roam freely and fouling anywhere.
    We would not stay here again.

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

We love this park and since discovering it have been repeat visitors. 09/08/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom sarah m. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Well kept, flat, friendly. Good facilities.

    Disliked: 

    Only moan is that where we were sited, there were tents next to us and we think that people may have been using the hedges as a toilet! There was a strong smell of urine coming from them. Maybe a sign up warning people not to urinate there may help?

Overall
9
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Nice site in beautiful surroundings with lots to keep kids busy 08/08/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom claiire m. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    *Great showers, very hot water and only 20p for 4 mins
    *The park was ok to keep kids busy while i washed up
    *Onsite shop was ok for emergency buys
    *Arcade was dated but kept kids out of rain for an hour
    *kids disco was great and kids loved it

    Disliked: 

    *Not enough toilets in camping field, only 1 block and it was at opposite end of field to our tent, 5 minute walk with 3 kids soon got boring so we got a bucket instead
    *the park could do with some staff supervision seen as the parents just let their unruly kids pick on the younger ones while they were in the bar.
    *the heated pool was freezing but the kids didnt seem to mind and people were swimming even in the rain

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Ok site 28/07/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Tim R. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nothing pool was cold needs to be more heated than it is for the British weather

    Disliked: 

    When checking in I was 60p short my wife was checking in later when finishing work so I said I would have to wait till then as they didn't except Amex card, They would not let me check in a person in the que gave me 60p , bit of common sense would have been nice .

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Ok for a very short trip but will not book again 20/04/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom aylee_p325416 Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The facilities were ok. The toilets were extremely warm, which helped with the cold weather. Our pitch was close to the amenities but remote enough away from them too. The staff were lovely.

    Disliked: 

    The pub and the cafe were extremely expensive for food. I paid £9.95 for a lasagne,chips and salad. The lasagne was a findus microwave lasagne. A bowl of ice cream for dessert was £4.25. I challenged this with the waitress as it was for our 3 year old, and asked if she could do a child's portion, like a one scoop, she said yes. End of the bill and we were charged £3.95 for the ice cream.
    The children that were there on the bank holiday weekend were incredibly rude and fighting with each other. I've never heard 10 year olds with more profanity that Roy Chubby Brown, throwing gravel and woodchip at each other too. My little boy rarely got to enjoy the park because of this.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Overall average. 17/07/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom John M. Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    In the row where we was pitched only one other van so it was okay. Reception was okay. Getting water was okay. Level pitch.

    Disliked: 

    Having to pay for shower. Toilets/sinks and showers at opposite ends of block. So having a shave at one end and then a paying shower at other not good.
    Pub not open. Steep hill from road to reception.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Nice clean site 25/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom jayne_b652930 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very clean.toilet block was very good.the pitches are quite large so plenty of room.very nice walk into ashbourne through the fields and down the track or via the road.but wouldn't be good at night time as it would be pitch black.the gate also shuts at night so you couldn't go the roadway back.

    Disliked: 

    Disliked that the site pub was closed until the weekends..that was one of the main reasons for choosing this site as It would have been nice to sit outside with a drink and be sociable.. being on my own it would have made a difference.also would be nice to have the choice where to pitch up as I didn't get the sun on the side I was and there was some empty pitches across from me which would have been great in the sun.

Overall
7
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Good campsite ruined by the feral children!! 30/10/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Robert B. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Clean and warm toilets/washing facilities
    Good size sites
    My kids liked the playground

    Disliked: 

    Feral, unsupervised kids

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Absolutely amazing site, great facilities staff were all very friendly 28/08/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Shirley F. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything

    Disliked: 

    Arnold cafe bar is just a bit to small for the amount of people at night couldn't get a table

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

Hard standings

Motorhome service point

Tourer storage facilities

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Walkers' paradise

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Climbing nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Outdoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Large (51-200 pitches)

Camping 2.0

Jumbo tent pitches

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Buxton Road Ashbourne, Derbyshire, England, DE6 2AQ
  • Timezone Europe/London GMT (GMT+00:00)   GPS 53.0266°N 1.7430°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Alton Towers: Coach Stop — 6.7 miles
Matlock Bath: Coach Stop — 9.9 miles
Belper Bus Station — 10.8 miles
Train stations
Idridgehay Rail Station — 7.3 miles
Wirksworth Rail Station — 8.2 miles
Cromford Rail Station — 10.0 miles
Ferry ports
Liverpool Pier Head Ferry Terminal — 58.2 miles
Airports
East Midlands Airport — 22.1 miles
Sheffield City Airport — 29.6 miles

Directions


The access to Callow Top is half a mile north of Ashbourne off the A515. We are opposite Sandybrook garage. Two large green signs mark the entrance.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Set in prime Derbyshire territory, there are fantastic walks all around, and for power-pedallers, the Tissington Trail provides a (mainly flat) route out of Callow Top right into the heart of the ravishing Peak District.

The local region boasts a cornucopia of pleasures for all ages, from the stately Chatsworth House and historic spa towns of Buxton and Matlock, to the chills, spills and thrills of Alton Towers. Visitors of an excitable disposition can keep their adrenaline boosted with watersports, paintballing, zip wiring, high wire assault courses, quad biking and laser tag all available nearby.

Younger children will enjoy a visit to Gulliver’s Kingdom theme park or a ride in a cable car followed by some cave-exploring at the Heights of Abraham. Other options include walking among macaque monkeys in the Monkey Forest at the Trentham Estate, near Stoke on Trent, where they can also make like an ape on the aerial walkways - all that fun should buy you some privileges at Trentham’s shopping village or lakeside café, surely?

Must see

  • Alton Towers Resort (6.7 miles)
  • Kedleston Hall (9.2 miles)
  • Sudbury Hall (9.4 miles)

National Trust

  • The Old Manor (4.6 miles)
  • Winster Market House (9.0 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Callow Top Holiday Park


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.

General
Quiet hours must be respected between 11 p.m. and 8 a.m..

Occupancy
Group bookings of 3 or more units (e.g. tent, touring caravan, motorhome or accommodation hire) travelling together are not permitted via Pitchup.com.
Single-sex bookings of 3 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.
The site caters for families (immediate members) and couples only - bookings from all other forms of groups are not accepted.

Pool
The outdoor swimming pool is open between 01/05 and 30/09 (subject to weather conditions).

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.
Open fires are prohibited.

Vehicles
Twin axle vehicles are not permitted on site.

Visitors
Visitors are not permitted on site.

Additional terms

The maximum pitch occupancy is 1 family (2 adults and their children up to the age of 16) or 2 couples.

The campsite does not accept any booking from under 21s, school, university, Scout/Guide, Duke of Edinburgh or other similar groups.

Extra car is not permitted if a pup tent is included in your booking.

If you have a large unit you must tell us at the time of booking. If you fail to advise us we cannot guarantee that your pitch will be of adequate size.

Dogs are not allowed in the Callow Inn, Arnold’s Café Bar, Callow Top shop, swimming pool area or fishing lake/nature reserve.

Park gates are closed between 11.30pm and 6.30am. There is no pedestrian access. If you need access between these times then prior arrangements must be made with reception.

Facilities may vary according to the time of season. If you stay with us during low season (April/May/midweek June/September/October/November,) please expect limited facilities to be available. The pub is only open at weekends. The Arnold's Café Bar is always open at weekends but weekday opening is dependent on the number of guests staying on site at the time.

Close