Book and review 9,263 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Hurley Riverside Park

This site does not currently take bookings here on

If you are the owner of this site, start taking bookings through by adding your business details.


  • Award-winning park on the Thames
  • On-site fishing in season and bits and bobs to entertain the kids
  • Block out some time to visit Legoland Windsor (11 miles)

We’ll take a piece of this, please: Hurley Riverside Park near Maidenhead in Berkshire is a playful 11 miles from Legoland Windsor and has discounted tickets for it available at reception – plus over 20 other local attractions from the Hellfire Caves to Tiggywinkles Wildlife Hospital; you’ll not want to leg-o when it’s time to leave…

If you’re angling for activities in the area that are even cheaper/free, there’s on-site fishing in season, the new Trim Trail playground and a nature trail with free quiz leaflet for littlies – there are plenty of locals to spot in the park’s trees, hedgerows and nesting boxes.

Hurley Riverside Park is on the Thames for walks along the Thames Path, in the Thames valley and to the nearby riverside towns of Henley-on-Thames and Marlow – pick up a footpath map from the Hurley shop for info on all the local hikes and nature reserves.

This award-winning park was placed in the Top 100 sites in the UK by Practical Caravan and its facilities are expertly put together, with several little touches built in to make guests feel at home: free showers including family shower rooms, disabled wet room, free use of hairdryers/shaver points, and a book swap area in the launderette block.

There’s even a slipway if you’re lucky enough to be arriving by boat like locals Ratty and Mole…

Pitches at Hurley Riverside Park are for tents, tourers and motorhomes, with electric hook-up available on some. Wifi is available for an extra charge.

Gold David Bellamy Conservation Award

Depart: (1 night)


Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.

Booking as a group?



Overall rating based on 1 review


0% would recommend this site to a friend.

0% would stay here again.


Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

More ratings

Value for money
Customer service
Child friendliness
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters

Great site with average facilities, shockingly poor customer service. 19/06/2017


  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful site with average facilities and access to the river.


    Overzealous park wardens who have no common sense or sensitivity, and who on this occasion simply lied to us.

    Having been allocated a camping pitch and pitched our campervan and awning during the afternoon, the warden rode past at 7:15 in the evening as we sat eating our tea and said that our awning was actually a tent - even though it is/was physically attached to our camper using a sun canopy - and that tents were not allowed in this field (this is not mentioned on their website or any of the provided paperwork and it was the park who allocated us this pitch). We asked if we could move to a different field and were told there was no space - this was a lie, we had walked round the site earlier and it was a barely half full, with whole fields still empty.

    This was all done in full view and earshot of our children who then got upset. Without the tent there is no-where for us all to sleep so we had no choice but to packup and leave. We asked if we could get a refund and were told "yes, if you go to the office before they close at 8pm".

    We packed up and went the office, whereupon we were told that they couldn't provide a refund as the person who deals with then wasn't in. We were then offered 2 pitches in a different field at twice the cost - so they did have space!!!

    We left and will never go back after being treated so terribly. We did eventually get the refund, several days later after chasing them, but not even the slightest hint of an apology. Absolutely shocking.

From the manager...

We are sorry you were not happy with your stay in Hurley. As explained at the time and as you mention in your review the second unit on your pitch was a tent and our site licence does not allow tents in Ash. The tent was also going to be used for sleeping and unfortunately we were unable to allow you to keep it on the pitch.

You were offered two pitches in Chestnut but our wardens have said you understandably didn’t want to pay for a second pitch for your tent as this would make your stay twice as expensive.

We are sorry that you were not refunded on the same day. Our reception closes at 8pm but we will to look into why this was not done straight away, however I understand you were refunded soon after.

Our park rules do state that only one unit can be on each pitch however we have taken your comments on board and will make the information regarding our site license restrictions in Ash more visible to prevent this happening again.

We are sorry that you were unable to stay with us, but hope that you will return to visit us in the future.

Value for money
Customer service
Child friendliness


Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment


Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away


TV room


Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access


Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Tents for hire

Toilet block

Washing-up area



Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

Drainage hook-up points for tourers

Fully serviced pitches

Hard standings

Motorhome service point

Water hook-up points for tourers


Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year



Walkers' paradise

Wildlife haven

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Restaurant nearby

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby


Large (51-200 pitches)


[[ ]] [[ ]]
  • Maidenhead, Berkshire, England, SL6 5NE
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 51.5474°N 0.8249°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
High Wycombe: Bridge St Bus Station — 6.5 miles
Reading: Rail Station Coach Stop — 8.9 miles
Windsor: Legoland Coach Stop — 9.6 miles
Train stations
Marlow Rail Station — 3.0 miles
Henley-on-Thames Rail Station — 3.4 miles
Shiplake Rail Station — 3.5 miles
Ferry ports
Shepperton Ferry Landing — 19.5 miles
Weybridge Ferry Landing — 19.6 miles
Moulsey - Hurst Park Ferry Landing — 22.0 miles
London Heathrow Airport Terminal 5 — 15.4 miles
London Heathrow Airport Terminal 3 — 16.6 miles
London Heathrow Airport — 16.8 miles


From the A4 and M4 at Maidenhead:
Leave the M4 at Junction 8/9 (Maidenhead) and take the A404(M). Take the third exit (approximately 2 miles) onto the A4130 signposted Henley. At the top of the slip road turn left and go straight across the Burchetts Green roundabout. You will pass Temple Golf Club on your right as the road begins to wind down the hill towards Hurley. Follow the brown caravan park signs, ignoring the turning into Hurley Village at East Arms Place, and continue along the A4130 for a further three-quarters of a mile, turning right into Shepherds Lane. At the sharp right-hand bend go straight on through the wood. At the crossroads proceed straight across into the touring park, reporting to the warden at reception.

From the M40 at High Wycombe:
Leave the M40 at Junction 4 (Handy Cross) and take the A404(M). After the roundabout take the slip-road to the A4130 signposted Henley turning right at the Burchetts Green roundabout and proceeding as above.

From Henley-on-Thames:
Take the A4130 towards Maidenhead for 5 miles. Approximately half a mile past the Black Boys, turn left into Shepherd's Lane and proceed as above.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Stick to the Thames and its riverside towns, take the kids to as many nearby attractions as they can wheedle you to, or take a day trip to Oxford, London or Reading…all are smooth sailing from here.

Walkswise, leave the park and follow your feet along the Thames Path, go up the side of the Thames Valley for views over Berkshire from Ashley Hill Forest, or have an easy stroll along the Jubilee River between Windsor and Maidenhead.

The Oxfordshire Way ends in Henley and goes through the Cotswold Hills and the Chilterns Hills; trace its route back towards Gloucestershire with doable walks from Henley to Middle Assendon, or on from there to Pishill and Christmas Common.

The beech forest surrounding Christmas Common is a good spot for biking; free wheelers can also pedal their way along the long-distance Chilterns Cycleway, which has an 18-mile loop from Henley through the Hambleden Valley.

Or take to the water instead – you can’t stay in a park with ‘Riverside’ in the name without even a smidgeon of messing about in boats…

There are boats for hire all around Henley, from yachts to traditional rowing boats, and if you’re new to oars the experts at Henley Rowing Club offer classes for beginners.

See how Ratty, Mole et al did it at the permanent Wind in the Willows exhibition at Henley’s award-winning River and Rowing Museum, also the place to find out about Henley’s world-famous regatta and the history of boats and boating on the Thames.

Traditionalists might also like a look around Windsor and Eton; the old buildings through all ages at the Chiltern Open Air Museum or puffing along at the foot of the along the foot of the Chiltern Hills on the Chinnor and Princes Risborough Railway.

Pick up discounted tickets for the above three attractions at the Hurley Riverside Park reception; discounted tickets are also available for:

The passenger boat Salters Steamers

- Cruises from Hobbs of Henley
- Cruises from French Brothers
- Windsor Leisure Centre including Playzone
- Krazy Play Days, Reading
- The Look Out Discovery Centre, Bracknell
- Horseshoe Lake Activity Centre, Sandhurst
- The Roald Dahl Museum and Story Centre
- Bucks County Museum and Roald Dahl Children's Gallery
- Bekonscot Model Village, Beaconsfield
- Millets Farm Centre, Frilford
- Coral Reef Waterworld, Bracknell
- Beale Park Wildlife Park and Gardens, Reading
- Wayside Stables, Maidenhead
- Temple Golf Club, Hurley
- The Red Lyon restaurant, Hurley
- Lemon Grass Thai restaurant, Maidenhead
- Francesco's Italian restaurants

Must see

  • Stanley Spencer Gallery (5.1 miles)
  • Cliveden (5.8 miles)
  • West Wycombe Park (6.7 miles)

National Trust

  • Greys Court (5.6 miles)
  • Cliveden (6.1 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.



Report a problem

Your claim is being sent…


Contact Hurley Riverside Park


Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the terms and conditions.

Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.
The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act.

Bookings are nominative and non-transferable.
Generators, radios, music, wood fires, firepits, Chinese lanterns, motorised scooters, hoverboards and drones are not permitted.
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.
Quiet hours must be respected between 10.30pm and 7.30am.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Group bookings of 3 or more units (e.g. tent, touring caravan, motorhome or accommodation hire) travelling together are not permitted via
Single-sex bookings of 3 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via
The site caters for families (immediate members) and couples only - bookings from all other forms of groups are not accepted.

Pitches: a £10 deposit is required on arrival and will be refunded on departure when returning the gate badge/barrier pass/toilet keys.

Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.

Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.
No vehicle movement between 12am and 7am.
Only one car is to be parked by the pitch. Extra vehicles must be parked in the designated area.

Visitors must register at reception and pay their fee.

Additional terms

The first named person is responsible for the booking and must be over 21 years of age.

The River Thames is dangerous to non-swimmers and the stream next to the park should not be entered for any reason.

Gazebos may have a maximum of two sides and must not be larger than four metres by four metres.

A small, trailered inflatable or rib boat can be parked next to your pitch if only one car is being brought.

The campsite welcomes guests for holiday purposes only.

Wicked vans, converted van, including hire vehicles, vehicles that are very dirty or are in a bad state of repair are not permitted.