Book and review 9,635 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Rose and Crown

8.0
View prices & book
From £9/€10.10/$15.86/US$11.57/CA$15.24/CHF11.49/SEK104.15/DKK75.40/NOK98.09/ISK1,422/ARS415.44/CLP7,746/PEN39.04/NZ$16.91/ZAR162.38/PLN43.73/R$43.45/CZK262.91/RSD1,195/HUF3,245.79/RUB759.16/CN¥80.31 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

General

  • Pub and food site near Spalding and 20 minutes from Wisbech
  • Lounge with open fire and pool tables
  • Food including Sunday lunches and pub grub

Hurrah, another Pitchup.com pub campsite! And what a decent pub it is too.

The Rose and Crown pub, restaurant and caravan park in Lincolnshire's Holbeach Hurn near Spalding has all sorts of proper touches you'll likely like to see in an inn, like a warmly welcoming atmosphere for all manner of customers, a main lounge with an open fire, beer garden, outside play area, large marquee and a games room with TV, a pool table, air hockey and arcade games. And plenty of space in the adjoining grounds for a bit of football or rounders if you're the type to feel a tad competitive after a pint…

If you also like to see proper food in pubs, you should be happy here with the mixed grills, trad pub grub, bar snacks, veggie choices, piles of homemade desserts, and proper chips handcut from locally-sourced spuds, from a menu dished up every day of the week from 9am to 9pm. And as the Rose and Crown is one of the last independent breweries in the region, you'll be fairly certain of getting a decent pint too.

The pub was taken over in the summer of 2015 by Carol and Doug, who want their inn and camping guests to have as enjoyable a stay as possible: they've added a garden bar with a second pool table, and also look after a large patio to the rear of the pub, a landscaped pond and an extensive car park.

Wifi can be picked up in the pub but at times it can be poor as the site is rural.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

8.0

Overall rating based on 163 reviews

 

75% would recommend this site to a friend.

75% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

55% described Rose and Crown as Budget/backpacker ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Nothing 04/11/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom andrea m. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nothing

    Disliked: 

    Had visited because we enjoyed a previous visit. Never again though. Stepped out of the van into dog waste, which because of poor to no lighting on site, was walked all through van. Water hose none functional. Debris from other long term campers. Restaurant awful. Chef on holiday, none trained staff cooking/microwaving our order. Which was missing items of menued meal - Scampi, chips and salad missing salad and lemon. Rosemary shank in red wine with mash and veg, had to have chips as no mash and served with no veg, Ribs with peas and onion rings, missing peas and onion rings. Staff sitting with family/friends in dinning room, most of whom served us different parts of our meal, weather they were suitably attired to do so or not. Numerous apologies and a free desert, but still a complete disaster and real dissapointment.

From the manager...

We are sorry to hear that you rated the location as 2/10, considering that you had previously visited site and must have known that we are a rural site. As for the rating again of 2/10 for accommodation, you brought your own Motor Home and therefore we did not provide you with any of our own accommodation facilities.
Although you were disappointed with the suitability of dress we do not accept that customer service was poor, you yourselves admitting that you had numerous apologies from all members of staff who we believe bent over backwards to put right the omissions regarding the food order, which you all seemed to enjoy as on clearing the table your plates were reasonably clean.
Due to the weather of recent days we actually moved one of our own caravans to allow you to site your Motor Home on a level hard standing especially as you were arriving late and we knew it would be dark. On behalf of irresponsible dog owners we apologise for you stepping into some dog waste. Under our terms and conditions all dogs must be kept on a lead, however as you must appreciate we are unable to monitor this 24/7.
With reference to your rating of 2/10 for Cleanliness we are unsure as to what areas you are referring to as the premises themselves are thoroughly cleaned in the morning but of course throughout the day carpet areas etc do attract grass, mud from customers entering from the fields.
We do provide numerous waste collection bins around the site, however, some customers do tend to leave their waste wherever they want. The site is cleared of litter first thing in the morning at this time of year as you must appreciate this cannot be done in the dark.
The water hose you referred to was unfortunately damaged, again by customers which we are awaiting repairs. There is however another water hose on site and this could have been used.
We apologise for your teenage children not feeling welcome, as you arrived late at night for an overnight stay we cannot see how the children felt unwelcomed.

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Interesting 29/10/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Anonymous Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass tent pitch (two man)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Area pub and people.

    Disliked: 

    Bumping into someones caravan as arrived in the dark. Tutt!!!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Excellent place to stay, and the owners were lovely. 08/10/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Anonymous Confirmed

  • 2 bedroom mobile home
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Easy to find, lovely owners, nothing was too much and nice and quiet.

    Disliked: 

    Not good for emergencies, as no phone signal or internet access available. Caravans need a bit of updating inside.
    Husband and I had to sleep in bedroom with twin beds as the double bed in the main bedroom was too low, which was no good for me as I suffer from back problems, this however is not the fault of the owners.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Fantastic site, clean facilities, great food, friendly staff & locals 30/09/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Lucy D. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything lovely place

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Cozy, friendly, quiet site with very reasonable pub grub next door. 05/09/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Anonymous Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Quiet location, friendly service, convenient pub next door serving very reasonable meals (including breakfasts.) Children's play area/adventure playground and small pool. Showers and toilet facilities modern and good quality with plenty of hot water. Laundry and dryer room and washing-up sinks. Choice of pitch close to facilities or more secluded and remote. The site was divided up into sections rather than having a vast open field; this gave it a nice cozy feeling. Very good value. We would certainly stay there again.

    Disliked: 

    Only minor concerns: Small number of toilets (2 WCs + urinal) in the gents and only 3 showers (unisex but each shower unit was in a small private changing room.) We never had to wait for toilets or showers (at the end of August) but at the peak of the high season one might have to wait. Toilets became blocked a couple of times due to careless users but were very quickly unblocked by the staff.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Pool 03/09/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Anonymous Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Pool

    Disliked: 

    Showers, wasps, loudness of the park, no hot water in showers, over grown weeds.

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Fab little site, great facilities and little one loved the ... 31/08/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Sara R. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Fab little site, great facilities and little one loved the park. Would definitely stay again

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

the pub and games room 31/08/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom donald h. Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    the pub and games room

    Disliked: 

    over flowing bins which attracted wasps which could of stung my small children
    should have recycled bins

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Nothing 29/08/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Anonymous Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nothing

    Disliked: 

    Everything needs a good reburshied and clean wouldn't recommend to anyone.

Overall
2
Location
(No rating)
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)

Very disappointing stay. We couldn't wait to leave 28/08/2018

darren_p176717 Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Convenience to the exit

    Disliked: 

    As in previous reviews stretching back over months wasps are a real problem here making it impossible to sit outside, toilets are unfinished with holes in the walls and floors and the food is certainly not home cooked. We were directed to a pitch beside a tent whose owners were supposed to be leaving however they returned late that evening and parked 18 inches from us. We were wakened at 2am by people including children shouting as they returned to their pitch from the pub and we left the following morning at 7:30 as soon as we possibly could. The pub grounds are full of rundown vehicles that have obviously been there for quite a while and the photographs on the owners business card do not reflect the current state of the site.

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Leisure on park

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Playground

Recreation room/arcade

Takeout

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on park

Bath available

Drying room

Free wifi

Grocery store

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Laundromat

Parent & baby washroom

Payphone

Pick-up from public transport

Restrooms

Shower available

Washing-up area

Wheelchair access

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Dump station

Propane/gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

Seasonal sites

Rules

Barbecue grills allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Hikers’ paradise

Peaceful

Remote location

Wild camping

Wildlife haven

Nearby leisure

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horseback riding nearby

Outdoor pool nearby

Watersports nearby

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Type

Large (51-200 sites)

Pub campground

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Low Road, Holbeach Hurn, Spalding, Lincolnshire, England, PE12 8JT
  • Timezone Europe/London GMT (GMT+00:00)   GPS 52.8254°N 0.0705°E

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Kirton (Lincs): War Memorial Coach Stop — 14.4 kilometres
Surfleet (Lincs): Coach Stop — 14.5 kilometres
Pinchbeck (Lincs): Bull Inn Coach Stop — 15.5 kilometres
Train stations
Spalding Rail Station — 15.9 kilometres
Boston Rail Station — 18.3 kilometres
Hubberts Bridge Rail Station — 20.7 kilometres
Ferry ports
West Lynn Ferry Landing — 22.8 kilometres
King's Lynn Ferry Landing — 23.0 kilometres
Airports
Cambridge Airport — 68.9 kilometres

Directions


From the A17 at Fleet Hargate, turn at the signpost Hovenden House and after 1/4 miles turn left, signposted Holbeach Hurn. After approximately 3/4 mile on the right through the village is the Rose and Crown Pub. A few yards further on and the site entrance is on your right.

When your satnav states you are at your destination, proceed straight ahead where you will see the Rose and Crown Pub (bright yellow) on your right, then proceed for another 30 yards where you will see the site entrance again on the right.

Please don't drive down Low Road as this is only a small lane which tourers and motorhomes find it hard to come down.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

You'll find a fair bit to do within a reasonable drive of the Rose and Crown, like Wisbech and its Elgoods Brewery, gardens and maze 20 minutes away, and royal days out at Sandringham within 19 miles. Both Hunstanton and Skegness are within about 45 minutes' drive.

Closer to home are two golf courses and Spalding's Springfields Outlet Shopping & Festival Gardens, which also has a tourist point detailing local attractions.

Spend a day around the Wash too for birdwatching at Frieston, Gibraltar Point and RSPB Snettingsham and a look at the RAF bombing range where visitors are welcome to watch the aircraft.

Historians have the National Trust's Peckover House or the Octavia Hill Birth Place Museum, both in Wisbech, to wander around, and if you have kids along on your hol, they'll probably fancy wanders around Fun Farm, Alley Katz Bowling or the Butterfly Wildlife Park.

Must see

  • Ayscoughfee Hall Museum and Gardens (15.5 kilometres)
  • Sandringham (29.9 kilometres)
  • Peterborough Cathedral (35.1 kilometres)

National Trust

  • Peckover House and Garden (18.8 kilometres)
  • St George's Guildhall (23.1 kilometres)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  8 a.m. –  Anytime
Depart:  Anytime
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  Anytime
Depart:  noon

Rose and Crown cancellation policy

Balance refunds: no penalties

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now.

The remainder is payable on arrival.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Visa
MasterCard
Maestro
Cash

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Rose and Crown


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Vehicles
Only one car is to be parked at the site. Extra vehicles must be parked in the designated area.

Close