Book and review 9,631 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Okehampton Youth Hostel

6.3

This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.

If you are the owner of this site, start taking bookings through Pitchup.com by adding your business details.

General

  • Site attached to an activity centre on the edge of Dartmoor
  • Mountain boarding, archery, climbing and watersports all available
  • On-site licensed restaurant

For some folk, a happy holiday does not involve cocktails, a pool, a sun lounger and all the other buzzwords of lazing about in swimwear. These folk much prefer swinging from ropes, clambering up walls, splashing through water and generally hurling themselves around, upping adrenaline so much that the subsequent Monday morning commute feels like a stroll in the park.

If this sounds like you, it's virtually a cert that you’ll like a stay at Okehampton Youth Hostel, at the same setting as Adventure Okehampton, an activity centre with family sessions running every day during the school holidays. The camping fields are in the grounds of the hostel and all guests have full access hostel facilities including bathrooms, a self-catering kitchen, TV and games rooms, as well as free wifi, a licensed restaurant and bike hire.

You and your small adventurers can have a go at mountain boarding, archery and scaling the climbing wall or ropes, with watersports including surfing, gorge scrambling, kayaking and canoeing on offer at the hostel’s private lake; true headers for heights can also have a go at the Big Oke Abseil. When you're up for exploring Dartmoor, there's direct access to the moors and the Granite Way cycle path.

If there's six or more of you up for a challenge, you can book a group activity together at the site at any time, for hen and stag parties, weekends away and just because. If your fellow campers aren't all up for such outdoor pursuits, during school holidays the site allows bookings for individual daredevils and groups smaller than six, so there's nothing to hold you back if you want to give something wild a whirl.

A tad too much adrenaline? Plenty of peeps come to Okehampton for a chillsome time too, or you could go for proper Devon downtime in the on-site licensed restaurant to demolish locally sourced food, local beers and cider.

This site is a member of YHA group.

Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

6.3

Overall rating based on 6 reviews

 

67% would recommend this site to a friend.

50% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters

Quiet site in a handy location 16/07/2018

amelia_c Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    This is the second time we've stayed at the site and it was very quiet which we love. The staff are friendly and helpful - we had an issue with what was the hook-up but turned out to be our cable and they were very helpful which I really valued as one member of our group needs power for a medical device. Although there is a bit of a walk to the toilets it is level and there is no need to go upstairs to use the toilets or showers unlike the statements in other reviews. It's useful to have access to the self catering kitchen and other facilities in the campsite. Okehampton itself has supermarkets and a wetherspoons which is handy and there is good access onto the moors close to the hostel (including the road up past the army camp).

    Disliked: 

    It's a pity there is only 1 hookup point that is far down the field so you don't have the option of pitching close to the car park or positioned in morning shade if you need the hookup. The reception opening times are also limited, however someone was always available at the end of the phone. If you're not going to arrive between 5pm and 8pm I'd recommend phoning in advance to get the toilet code and pay the balance.

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to review your camping experience at YHA Okehampton. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and that the facilities, such as the self catering kitchen, were useful for you. As you say there are downstairs toilets, as well as games room and lounge upstairs.

We have reviewed the feedback on a greater need for hook-up points on the camping field, and the operations manager plans to install a few more points later this year.

Thank you for suggesting that if customers are likely to be late arriving, they should call for the door codes. Our main reception is normally open 5pm to 8pm, but we do open later by arrangement, and we try to call customers (if there's a mobile number) if they are late. An emergency contact number is also available to guests.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)

Quiet, friendly campsite with good, clean facilities. 01/06/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Louise B. Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The staff are lovely - all very friendly and if they didn't know something (I got the impression they are mostly young people hired for the busy periods) they immediately went off and found out the answer. I was particularly impressed at how much patience the young archery instructor had and how diplomatic he was with youngsters who struggled with a group situation and something they hadn't experienced before.
    All facilities are within the YHA building which was a surprise but seemed to work fine. I really liked the toilet/shower set-up - no separate blocks, just single cupboard sized rooms containing a toilet, basin and shower and always very clean with lots of toilet paper. I never had to queue (although the hostel did seem very quiet).
    The kitchen was well equipped for self-catering and the chef in the dining room/cafe was friendly and accommodating. The YHA building is a converted railway station workshop and the old station building opposite opens on Sundays and bank holidays for cream teas. There are a number of train carriages parked up during the week and we noticed there were special sight-seeing trips also on Sundays and bank holidays. Also a little bookshop and lots of things for young train enthusiasts on the platforms.
    I liked the fact you can't park by the pitches - much more open and quiet atmosphere. I was expecting a campsite full of noisy teenagers but actually it was virtually deserted, even though it was half term and in the middle of a heat wave.
    It is literally a 10 minute walk along a quiet lane and through a lovely wood to reach the foot of Dartmoor. There is a large bus stop in the YHA carpark if you wanted to catch a bus somewhere but it was an easy walk into town which has everything (we struggled to think of anything it didn't have) but the hostel being on the side of hill obviously means it's an uphill walk back.
    There is a separate cycle hire company on-site.

    Disliked: 

    There were set activities on set days (ie, gorge scrambling on a Monday, kayaking and raft building on a Tuesday etc) which I can understand because it means fewer staff having to run different activities but it means you are restricted. We went for 4 days and my daughter was lucky that she got to do most of the things we'd planned. If there aren't enough participants, the activity doesn't run (even archery which I thought disappointing considering they don't have to drive anywhere). I didn't realise from the website that all of the water and climbing activities have to be driven to in the YHA mini-buses (so as a non-participant you either had to stay behind or go with them and sit there - no strolling back to your tent for a cup of tea).
    It's quite a walk from the campsite to the nearest toilet - we counted 200 paces from the nearest possible pitch and then 14 stairs and you have to have the door entry code with you otherwise that's a long walk back in the early hours!
    I thought the cost of each activity was quite high; £25 per activity adds up if you had more than one child over 14 or an adult wanted to join in.
    The bike hire was more expensive than advertised on the website.

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to review your camping experience at YHA Okehampton. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and that the facilities, such as the self catering kitchen and restaurant, were useful for you. As you say, as this is a Youth Hostel with a camping field, so all the facilities are in the building. But as you've noted, it's an easy walk onto to Dartmoor and the rail service during the day offers opportunities to visit other places without driving.

When you return, you'll find there were downstairs toilets and showers, as well as the individual shower rooms you used upstairs where the games room and lounge were.

We regularly review the feedback on activities. As you observed, we do not have all of our 10 bookable activities running every day. Many people stay for a few days of activities, hence to provide sufficient variety it means that we run a regular programme that changes each day. Hence if you are looking for a specific activity then it may be viewed as more restrictive in timing for individuals booking a single session.

We do price check our activities against other suppliers to ensure we are competitive as well as a quality experience, and we do offer discounts for multiple bookings.

We will review the web-site information to make it clearer which activities take place off site, and that if not participating in an activity session you need to follow in a vehicle.

We will also check the cycle hire prices on the various web-sites where they are listed, but there are half-day hires and full day hire rates.

Thank you for drawing possible errors in updating for the 2018 price lists to our attention.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Nothing 06/04/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Ryan S. Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nothing

    Disliked: 

    Water logged camping area.
    Camping area is part of activity area so no sense of privety
    One electrical point with no to charge 3 pin devices
    Very over priced

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to review your camping experience at YHA Okehampton. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoyed your stay. The weather wasn't at it's best this April, after a prolonged winter with snow, which is unusual for Devon, hence the field was wetter than it usually is.

This is a Youth Hostel with a camping field, so all the facilities are in the building and there are no marked pitches. There are some three-pin plugs in the main building, but not on the field, you do need to have an adaptor cable.

The Operations manager intends to add more electric hook-up points in response to feedback on the camping field.

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
Default avatar

Smallish site, but well appointed. Would go again 21/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom allison B. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    I liked that we could bring the dogs. The facilities were good, especially appreciated the drying room.

    Disliked: 

    Rain on the first and last day was a bit of a downer, but can't blame hostel for that!

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to review your camping experience at YHA Okehampton. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay along with your dog. The drying rooms do come in useful for drying out clothes and boots on the wet days.

The Operations manager intends to add more electric hook-up points in response to general feedback on the camping field.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Good facilities, excellent staff. 20/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Mark S. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The YHA staff were exceptionally helpful. The drying room was very useful, as we're the hostel's self-catering facilities and the lounge / games room. The food is good if you decide to buy instead of cooking for yourself. The shop is tiny, but sells milk, beer and ping-pong balls!

    Okehampton town centre is only a short walk away. The site is adjacent to Okehampton station (it has a very good tea room), which offers trains to Exeter (Sundays only) or down to Meldon Viaduct (weekends and bank holidays). The opportunity to take part in activities like archery, climbing wall etc. was fantastic, and was especially appreciated by our son (12 yrs).

    I would seriously consider coming back, but next time I would look to cut costs with a YHA membership and direct booking.

    Disliked: 

    The grass on the camping field really needs to be kept shorter, and you're more-or-less guaranteed to step in one of the big puddles if you go to the loo during the night.

    Depending on the weather, the site attracts biting insects, so bring repellent. It can also get windy, so make sure your tent is properly prepared.

    You can't take your car onto the camping field - which is fine - but a couple of hand trolleys to help move your gear would have been very welcome.

    It isn't obvious how you buy food during the day when the cafe is 'open' but nobody is about, but reception staff were always helpful.

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to review your camping experience at YHA Okehampton. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that your son took advantage of the activity programme which we run during the holidays.

This is a Youth Hostel with a camping field, so all the facilities are in the building and thus a discounted rate is available to members, as part of their membership benefits, which may offer better value for longer stays.

After reading and hearing different customer feedback, we have put in place a better grass cutting system, although the weather wasn't at it's best for a few days hence the field was wetter than it usually is.

The Operations manager intends to add more electric hook-up points in response to other feedback on the camping field.

I will pass your suggestions about hand trolleys and cafe service to the operations manager for review for the coming holidays.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Unable to comment as we didn't stay 02/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Karen M. Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Unable to comment as we didn't stay

    Disliked: 

    On arrival, we were not allowed to park on the grass to unload near the pitch, as I thought had been indicated on booking. We asked for a refund and went elsewhere.

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to review your camping experience at YHA Okehampton. We are sorry to hear that you did not stay. This is a Youth Hostel with a camping field, so all the facilities are in the building. We don't allow people to drive onto the grass, as there is not a hard surface underneath, hence it is not suitable for cars. We will review the information to ensure this is more visible for people making bookings.

Overall
2
Location
(No rating)
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Walkers' paradise

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Climbing nearby

Cycling nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Surf school nearby

Watersports nearby

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Small (11-25 pitches)

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Klondyke Road, Okehampton, Devon, England, EX20 1EW
  • Timezone Europe/London GMT (GMT+00:00)   GPS 50.7319°N 3.9958°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Okehampton: West Street Coach Stop — 0.6 miles
Tavistock Bus Station — 14.3 miles
Yelverton (Devon): Roundabout Bus Stop — 17.1 miles
Train stations
Okehampton Rail Station — 0.0 miles
Sampford Courtenay Rail Station — 3.3 miles
Morchard Road Rail Station — 11.8 miles
Ferry ports
Bideford Ferry Landing — 21.8 miles
Topsham Lock Ferry Landing — 23.3 miles
Topsham Ferry Landing — 23.4 miles
Airports
Exeter International Airport — 25.4 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Stick close to home to explore Okehampton and its surrounding villages, roam around Dartmoor, head to the north or south Devon coasts or cross the border into Cornwall – depending on your energy levels after all that abseiling.

The town of Okehampton is on the edge of Dartmoor and has the Museum of Dartmoor Life in its 18th-century mill telling the tale of those who have lived and worked in the area for centuries past (there are often evening visits available for those who’ve been swinging from ropes all day).

During the day – partly because it’s only open until five or six and partly because it’s haunted – take a trip to medieval Okehampton Castle, the ruins of Devon’s biggest castle. The 1920s Castle Drogo, with formal garden, tours and events including vintage car rallies and fancy dress, is about 20 minutes’ drive from the hostel.

From Okehampton there are nearby villages galore to explore and walks from the hostel over the moors, woodlands, tors and ancient monuments of Dartmoor.

Take the Belstone Walk past the healing stone (lie on it and think of the part of your body that needs fixed), or walk along the Meldon Viaduct to Black-a-Tor Copse to take in bluebell woods and an ancient oak woodland nature reserve: go here in May to see the best of the bluebells and rare plants.

Flower fans will also like the RHS gardens at Rosemoor 20 minutes’ drive from Okehampton; there are over 40 other gardens in Devon if this sort of stuff makes you bloom.

Devon – and Cornwall – have seaside towns, cracking cuisine, piles of stately homes and some of the best beaches in the country, most within an hour’s drive or less.

The Eden Project is about an hour’s drive along the A30 and Bude and Newquay are both reachable from Okehampton by bus. Keep Sundays free too: there’s a train direct from the hostel to Exeter to mosey around the castle, cathedral, Roman remains and shops.

Must see

  • Castle Drogo (8.4 miles)
  • RHS Garden Rosemoor (15.8 miles)
  • Buckfast Abbey (19.1 miles)

National Trust

  • Finch Foundry (3.0 miles)
  • Lydford Gorge (7.9 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  12 p.m. –  8 p.m.
Depart:  11 a.m.

Check-in is possible until 10pm between July and August. If you arrive after this time, please pitch up and report to reception upon re-opening the following morning.

Okehampton Youth Hostel cancellation policy

Balance refunds: no penalties

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now.

The remainder is payable on arrival.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Maestro
MasterCard
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Okehampton Youth Hostel


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.

Vehicles
No cars/motorbikes by the pitch/unit. All cars must be parked in the designated area.

Additional terms

Bike hire is charged at £12 per adult per day and £10 per child per day.

Activities can be booked for a minimum group size of 6 people at any time. Individual activity bookings are available during the school holidays (Easter, half term and summer holidays). These taster sessions start at £20 per person (archery, climbing wall, bushcraft or weaseling – for age 5 upwards), £25 for high octane experiences of Kayaking (age 5 upwards), High Ropes, Rock Climbing, Mountain Boarding (age 8 upwards) and Big Oke Abseil (Age 14 upwards). Full day paddle experiences on the River Exe start at £59 per person.

Campfire nights, night walks and other evening activities are also scheduled in these summer holiday periods and are charged at £4 per person.

Close