Book and review 9,559 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

The Beeches

8.4
View prices & book
From £10/€11.14/A$17.98/US$13.09/CA$16.91/CHF12.55/SEK114.99/DKK83.10/NOK106.56/ISK1,442/ARS487.43/CLP8,731/PEN43.19/NZ$19.58/ZAR187.78/PLN48.01/R$53.02/CZK285.09/RSD1,316/HUF3,611.64/RUB871.49/CN¥89.56 (for 1 night, 4 people)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

General

  • Small friendly site 13 miles from Lincoln
  • Level and well-drained site
  • On the Ermine Way and the Lincolnshire Aviation Heritage Trail

What a handsomely historic location has the hamlet of Byards Leap – for it's between ancient Lincoln and the old market towns of Sleaford, Newark and Grantham; is on an aged Roman road, and is the setting of ye olde Byards Leap legend dating back centuries (Byard was a high-jumping horse, in case you're wondering). And the Knights Templar used to hang out around here too.

Folks use The Beeches campsite in the hamlet as a base to explore historic Lincolnshire or as a stopover enroute to Norfolk or the east coast: plenty of history around in those there parts too. It's a small and friendly site, level, grassy and well drained, with rather nice views over Lincolnshire farmland; access to the Ermine Way is straight from the site.

The Beeches has a play area and disabled-friendly amenities a few steps from the pitching area. It's next to the Byards Leap café which dishes up excellent breakfasts and lunches from Thursday to Sunday; a handful of good pubs and restaurants is within a five-mile radius too.

Dogs are welcome at The Beeches – we recommend old Roman road Ermine Street for walks...

Please note

A charge of £0.20 applies for the use of shower.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

8.4

Overall rating based on 120 reviews

 

82% would recommend this site to a friend.

78% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

62% described The Beeches as Budget/backpacker ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters

Excellent site, clean, flat, well drained. 23/09/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Jacqueline B. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Came for a mum and son weekend Fri-Sun to stay in our tent. Given it was a drizzly and windy weekend the site was great and made it easier for us. Arrived early evening with Shaun on hand to let us in and even made me a well need cuppa, above and beyond, made sure we had all we needed etc. The site is flat and peaceful except some road noise from main road but thats not the owners fault. It didnt bother our stay at all (the wind was much noisier) neighbours on site were lovely, felt very welcome. Will definately be back in Spring! Showers and toilets were much cleaner than i had expected (showers were powerful and hot which was lurrrvly) and facilities were fab for pot washing etc. Overall very happy campers and wanting to come back :) thanks Shaun.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Will definitely be returning to this campsite 03/09/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Laura L. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely family site, little park for the kids to play also woodland area where they can explore. All safe so they can roam to their lesuire

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Great affordable family & pet friendly site.Owners very welcoming. 01/09/2018

chris_b130718 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The price, great child friendly site just enough room for the kids to have freedom without going to far because of boundaries.The shower and toilet was clean spacious lovely and warm.Some bad reviews about the road but it didn't bother us.I honestly think for the cost it was great.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing really to do with owners, rather people pitching when they leave not cleaning and leaving pitch clean ie. dumping coals from bbq in field.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Awful experience 31/08/2018

ashleigh_d706661 Mobile phone icon

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nothing

    Disliked: 

    We booked this 3 weeks in advance, told them of our arrival time and was told everything was fine. We tried to call them prior to arriving and when we turned up there was nobody there, the gate to the campsite was locked and after calling all 3 of the numbers on the website many times we gave up. I emailed to ask what happened and they said we should have called the number on the shower block. But we couldn’t get in to see the shower block?! Terrible customer service! Didn’t even receive an apology. They knew we had booked, that we had a baby with us and what time we were arriving. We ended up having to sleep in a lay-by!

From the manager...

Hi Ashleigh,

Thank you for your comment. We did send you an apology in an email, sorry if you didn't receive it or have seen it. It was sent to you the day after. You did however email us to say you couldn't get on site after you left. Which i did ask you to call me so i could let you on and direct you to your pitch, which you then said you have left and was going to find alternative arrangements.
We have a small entrance gate, which you can walk through to find the info on the shower block. We had two customers who had done this in an hour before your arrival.
We are sorry again for this misunderstanding.

Regards
Shaun

Overall
2
Location
(No rating)
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Very basic site. Flat pitches.basic facilities 29/08/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Anonymous Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Friendly staff. Decent showers 20p a minute

    Disliked: 

    Constant heavy traffic noise from A17. Noisy .overflowing bins. Toilets dirty

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

3rd visit to the beeches, just get better and better. Great staff. 29/08/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Chris W. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nice and peaceful.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Very clean and lovely staff. 28/08/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Anonymous Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very clean and lovely staff.

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Lovely site, very friendly who run it an very helpful! Will return. 28/08/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Catherine J. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Loved it,great little campsite! Most friendliest people that run it..People moan about road noise but I didn’t hear it or never made myself aware of it...Clean facilities,toilets an shower..Nice little park for kids.

    Disliked: 

    The only thing was the gate to get in out was nuisance..

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Showers were surprisingly good. Flat pitches Able to have fire ... 28/08/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Anonymous Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Showers were surprisingly good.
    Flat pitches
    Able to have fire pit
    No restriction on where you pitch
    Small site

    Disliked: 

    Only 2 showers for whole site
    Non electric pitches very exposed
    No lighting to showers so definitely need a torch

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Atmosphere. Friendly family owners. 27/08/2018

daniel_j935051 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Atmosphere. Friendly family owners.

    Disliked: 

    Having to go home

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

Tourer storage facilities

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Budget/backpacker

Forest

Peaceful

Wildlife haven

Nearby leisure

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Restaurant nearby

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Small (11-25 pitches)

Camping 2.0

Jumbo tent pitches

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Byards Leap, Cranwell, Sleaford, Lincolnshire, England, NG34 8EY
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 53.0325°N 0.5256°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Sleaford Coach Stop — 5.6 miles
Silk Willoughby (Lincs): Coach Stop — 5.8 miles
Anwick (Lincs): Coach Stop — 7.8 miles
Train stations
Ancaster Rail Station — 3.1 miles
Rauceby Rail Station — 4.4 miles
Sleaford Rail Station — 5.4 miles
Ferry ports
West Lynn Ferry Landing — 42.7 miles
Airports
East Midlands Airport — 36.5 miles

Directions


The site is off the B6403 Ancaster to Cranwell Road just before the junction with the A17 Newark to Sleaford road. The entrance to the site is to the right of the Old School.

From the A17, turn onto the B6403 to Ancaster. After 30m turn immediately right. The entrance to the site is to the right of The Old School.

Follow the signs to Traditional Timber Windows and the Family Café.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Pick up details of local walks, cycle routes and town maps as well as leaflets and tourist info on site: there's quite a bit to do all around. A mix of quiet roads and bridleways linking the area's Lincolnshire villages means there's quite a bit to see if you want to get around by foot, pedal or horse.

As well as being on the Ermine Way, The Beeches is also on the Lincolnshire Aviation Heritage Trail and is close to the RAF Cranwell Heritage Centre and the Newark Air Museum. The Newark Showground is nearby too for shows, displays and events.

Plenty more history is at Lincoln – see the castle and cathedral if you only have time for two things – and at nearby National Trust properties like Grantham House and Tattershall Castle.

Or take trips around Lincolnshire's old towns, like Sleaford, a market town since the twelfth century; Grantham, where Isaac Newton went to school, and Newark, besieged by the roundy-headed ones in the English Civil War.

Must see

  • Belton House (7.3 miles)
  • Lincoln Medieval Bishops' Palace (13.9 miles)
  • Lincoln Cathedral (14.0 miles)

National Trust

  • Grantham House (9.4 miles)
  • Tattershall Castle (14.5 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  4 p.m. –  7 p.m.
Depart:  11 a.m.

The Beeches cancellation policy

No refunds within 1 week of arrival date.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. The Beeches will debit the balance from your card 12 days before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 12 days then the balance will be taken immediately.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

American Express
Bank transfer
Cash
Maestro
MasterCard
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact The Beeches


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.

Arrivals and departures
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.
Guide dogs are allowed on site free of charge.

Extras
A charge of £0.20 applies for the use of shower.
Motorbike(s) can be brought instead of the car(s) included.

General
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.
Quiet hours must be respected between 9 a.m. and 11 p.m..
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.

Vehicles
The car is only included in the rate if you are travelling with a touring caravan or a tent. If you wish to bring a car along with your motorhome/campervan please select the extra.

Visitors
Visitors must leave the premises by 9 p.m..
Visitors’ cars are not permitted on site.

Close